Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
jem2017, Rafter J, Tndeerhunter, JoshuaPaul, barkleybowhunter
62215 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 82308
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44216
BOBO the Clown 42368
BMD 40617
bill oxner 39303
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34452
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31324
facebook
Forum Stats
62214 Members
46 Forums
432843 Topics
5963025 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6435887 - 09/02/16 01:55 PM Scope Mounting Question
bonehunts Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 558
Loc: NE Dallas, TX
I picked up a great deal on a Browning Synthetic 243 Abolt for my 13 year old and need to get her Swaro Z3 mounted on it. The gun came with a Picatinny rail on it which I have zero experience with.
My questions are:
Would you recommend replacing the rail with "normal/standard" rings and bases?
If I keep the rail, what rings do you recommend to mount with?

I'm hoping to get it set up this weekend so I can get her out next and get it sighted in.

Thanks in advance.

Top
#6435918 - 09/02/16 02:17 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2405
Loc: Houston
For that type, meaning mounting on a rail, I really like Warne products for the value. Of course there are better but certainly more costly too. And there r plenty pf good ones aside from these too.

http://swfa.com/Maxima-C1278.aspx

Top
#6435983 - 09/02/16 03:00 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
DRD11 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 09/05/13
Posts: 9
Second vote for Warne.

The rail has lots of benefits say if you plan to change scopes or take it on and off or move that swaro to another rifle of different make with a rail. You can always get rings and bases specific to that rifle if not and remove the rail. To me it's kind of a convenience thing.

Top
#6436005 - 09/02/16 03:14 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
ZK-315 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 10/11/13
Posts: 1861
Loc: Temple...Hunt in Freestone Co.
I have the Burris Extreme tactical on my 30-06 and haven't had any issues at all.

Burris Rings

Top
#6436015 - 09/02/16 03:18 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21162
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Definitely keep the rail. Strong, lots more ring mounting options, and it's easy to move a scope from one rifle to the other. I put pic rails on every rifle I have, even .22 lr.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6436059 - 09/02/16 03:45 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
bonehunts Offline
Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 558
Loc: NE Dallas, TX
Great info guys. With the 50mm objective, do I need to buy a specific height/size set of rings?

Top
#6436101 - 09/02/16 04:16 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21162
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Medium height tend to work. If you order them, make sure the seller has a good return policy, in case they are not the perfect height. Midway USA has a great return policy.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6436685 - 09/03/16 07:20 AM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
Slow Drifter Offline


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4342
Loc: Central Texas
Only thing I'll add is pull that pic rail off, clean the holes, and re-install with blue Lok-tite.
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#6437238 - 09/03/16 04:52 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
Dalee7892 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 05/04/15
Posts: 1680
Loc: Denton County
With the picatinny rail you can also used a red dot if need to. Many use for this rail, even night vision. So many adjustments with the rail.

Top
#6437535 - 09/03/16 09:44 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1993
Loc: Justin, TX
I would keep the rail also. If you go to a two piece setup you'll lose a lot of flexibility. I too would get Warne and as has already been stated, medium rings work most of the time with a 50mm objective. If you decide to change mounts, if your rifle is a AB3 then the bases are different from what the A-Bolt and A-Bolt II use.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6437899 - 09/04/16 11:02 AM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 7110
Loc: Wise Co.
I'd lose the rail and go with a Dual Dovetail mount or Warne steel bases and Burris Zee rings (or Leupold QRW or PRWs), for two reasons: I don't care for the looks of the rail, and I don't like anything even slightly impeding access to the magazine. What ever you do, avoid the "Standard" mounts with the windage adjustable rear mount. That's the only real mistake you can make other than buying the cheapest aluminum garbage out there.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Ronald Reagan
It's not that liberals are not smart, it's just that so much of what they know isn't so.

Top
#6437938 - 09/04/16 12:00 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: RiverRider]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21162
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
With no rail, what do you do when you can't get eye relief perfect, and the scope is hitting the front or the back ring?

Case in point, I worked up a load for a friend's .300 Win Mag, and had the scope set to my eye. Once all was said and done, he could not get anything but blackness. I loosened the ring caps, and slid the scope back. "Better, but needs more". Slid it back again, "needs more". The objective was touching the front ring. Took the front ring off and moved it back two grooves in the pic rail. Finally got the scope where he could see, and all was well. Had he had two piece rings, he would not have been able to use the very good scope he purchased.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6438546 - 09/04/16 09:32 PM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 7110
Loc: Wise Co.
I've had to use a reversible Weaver-type mount or reversible dual dovetail mount a time or two, but never had an issue beyond that on a bolt-action. If I had to use a rail, I would but it's never been a necessity for me.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Ronald Reagan
It's not that liberals are not smart, it's just that so much of what they know isn't so.

Top
#6438754 - 09/05/16 07:25 AM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: bonehunts]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1993
Loc: Justin, TX
I mount enough scopes to where occasionally you have to either ditch two piece bases or use another scope.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6438760 - 09/05/16 07:29 AM Re: Scope Mounting Question [Re: RiverRider]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1993
Loc: Justin, TX
Originally Posted By: RiverRider
I'd lose the rail and go with a Dual Dovetail mount or Warne steel bases and Burris Zee rings (or Leupold QRW or PRWs), for two reasons: I don't care for the looks of the rail, and I don't like anything even slightly impeding access to the magazine. What ever you do, avoid the "Standard" mounts with the windage adjustable rear mount. That's the only real mistake you can make other than buying the cheapest aluminum garbage out there.


Never had an issue with the Leupold Std. system and have it on two of my rifles. I've also mounted a ton of them at work and not had an issue. Sometimes the coarse windage adjustment is a godsend.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide