Page 1 of 2 1 2
Hello from a new guy and a few questions... #6417175 08/20/16 08:43 PM
B
BudMan Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
B
Hi Everyone! My name is Bud and I have been a lurker here for a while. I decided to register and participate in the discussions. I live in Huntsville, Texas and I own a cattle ranch and a few businesses and a few websites.I am also an Author and I have a new novel about to be published soon. I am an avid freshwater fisherman mainly on the Trinity River. I grew up hunting and fishing with my family, although I gravitated more towards the fishing aspect as I got older. My hobbies include flying full scale airplanes as well as RC models and I have a small airstrip on my ranch. I am married and we have no children and I am currently 57 years old. That's about it I suppose...

This year I want to kill a few deer on my property and I have set up a few PVC style corn feeders and cameras. I don't really want to mess with building a permanent blind right now as I am too busy, so I have bought a cheapo Academy pop-up blind for this season. I have the blind set on the ground at 50 yds. from the feeder. I want to hunt using my trusty Model 94 30-30 lever action Winchester. One of my questions concerns my ability to get a clean kill at that distance using the stock sights on the gun in low light. I am thinking of side mounting a scope for the season. Has anyone done this and what are your thoughts? I am a pretty decent shot with the stock sights when messing around the ranch, but I think I would feel more confident using a scope for deer hunting.

My next question is how durable are these little blinds? My blind is a stock Academy brand made of nylon much like a tent. If I set the blind out now, will it last in the elements for the season? It will still be plenty hot around here for a while longer. I am trying to figure out what to use for a floor to keep out snakes. Any tips would be appreciated!
Bud