Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
dreeves, TRog34, Togurt, Bigford, garcalo
60431 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77377
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41086
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33683
bill oxner 32624
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60431 Members
45 Forums
475785 Topics
6241525 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6408840 - 08/15/16 09:52 AM Piccatinney Mounts
DLALLDER Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 2855
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
Ok, someone inform this old goat what the 0, 10,20 MOA means when talking about the rails used on LR guns. What are the pluses & minuses? Thanks


Edited by DLALLDER (08/15/16 09:52 AM)
_________________________







Top
#6408913 - 08/15/16 10:49 AM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
0 MOA will, theoretically zero then scope in the middle of its' elevation travel.

10 MOA will zero the scope and give you an additional 10 MOA elevation travel on the top end.

20 MOA will zero the scope and you an additional 20 MOA elevation travel on the top end.

This is for dialing elevation for long range shots. Without a 20 MOA base you can run out of elevation travel for a long range shot. 20 MOA equates to about 6 Mils. So let's say you were shooting a 308 to 1000 yards, and you need 10.0 Mils. You have the scope mounted on a 0 MOA base, and you run out of travel at 8 Mils. You have to hold the other 2.0. Had you mounted the scope on a 20 MOA base you would not have ran out of travel for the distant shot. Most long range scopes are designed to be mounted on a 20 MOA base.

One day I would like to build a big rifle for 2000 yards. I will mount the scope on a 40 MOA base to have enough elevation travel to get me to 2000 yards. The downside, that could happen, is that at 100 yards I dial the elevation POI down as far as it will go, but I am still impacting higher than I want to be. I ran out of travel on the low end, in that case.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6409076 - 08/15/16 01:04 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9411
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Also, make sure your scope has enough internal travel to accommodate a canted base. Some scopes do not have enough internal travel and with a 20 moa base, they can not zero their rifle. If there is a certain scope you want to make sure you have enough, just ask. I say this because I have seen shooters get a high magnification scope on a 1" tube and install a 20 moa base, and there not be enough down adjustment to get a zero.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6409096 - 08/15/16 01:19 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Cleric Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 03/11/12
Posts: 2579
If you are not shooting longer than 500 yards you do not need a canted base

Top
#6409380 - 08/15/16 04:20 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
DLALLDER Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/23/05
Posts: 2855
Loc: Pittsburg, Texas
Thanks Guys, I thought that was the case but was not positive. Daniel
_________________________







Top
#6409532 - 08/15/16 05:46 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 5023
Loc: Frisco, Texas
Just remember

MOA and BDC Turrets are your friends clap
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Straight



Top
#6409592 - 08/15/16 06:11 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Wilhunt Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2330
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Are you saying that you can buy a base with different MOA? Sorry if this is a foolish question.

Top
#6409639 - 08/15/16 06:33 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Slow Drifter Online   content


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4253
Loc: Central Texas
Yes, a 20MOA base buys you an additional 20MOA of elevation. Your actually just "borroing" it from your scopes down elevation. In theory,with a 20MOA base the scopes new "zero" is minus 20MOA, so you have an additional 20MOA availabe in "up" elevation, and 20MOA less "down" elevation available. It's important to know what the scopes available internal adjustment is before playing with elevated bases.
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#6409738 - 08/15/16 06:58 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: Slow Drifter]
Wilhunt Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2330
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Originally Posted By: Slow Drifter
Yes, a 20MOA base buys you an additional 20MOA of elevation. Your actually just "borroing" it from your scopes down elevation. In theory,with a 20MOA base the scopes new "zero" is minus 20MOA, so you have an additional 20MOA availabe in "up" elevation, and 20MOA less "down" elevation available. It's important to know what the scopes available internal adjustment is before playing with elevated bases.


So you need to match a given scope with the proper base. My brother has a Nikon on a rifle that we tried to sight in and failed to do so. The scope had turrets with numbers on the bottom of turret as well as caps on top of the turret with adjustments there. We were doing something wrong or did not have the right match of scope and base, we never got it right.

Top
#6409744 - 08/15/16 07:00 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: Wilhunt]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
What could you not get right?
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6409747 - 08/15/16 07:01 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Slow Drifter Online   content


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4253
Loc: Central Texas
Was the rifle consistently high, low, or all over the place?
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#6409848 - 08/15/16 08:00 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Wilhunt Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2330
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
We never got it sighted in....as well as I remember most of the time it was high. The more we tried to sight in the more we were all over the target. Obviously we were not doing something right in our effort to sight at 100 yards.

Top
#6409947 - 08/15/16 08:50 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: Wilhunt]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
So it wouldn't group anywhere?
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6410221 - 08/15/16 10:34 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
Wilhunt Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2330
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
No we did not get a group....I would almost think the scope was defective except for the scope being different from what I am use to. As mentioned earlier the turrets had a setting on the bottom that was numbered as well as having a cap on top that would come off and settings could be changed there. The setting for elevation was on 2 I think and we used the adjustment on top (under the cap) to adjust up or down. The scope I am used to do not have the setting on bottom of turret.

Top
#6410233 - 08/15/16 10:45 PM Re: Piccatinney Mounts [Re: DLALLDER]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20288
Loc: Texas
Had to return a new Vortex Viper HD last year that would not sight in, shooting at 50 yards groups were about 8 inches without touching the turrets, That was on a rifle with low recoil and had shot sub MOA the day before with a different scope and rings. Went home pulled a scope from another rifle and mounted it on in the same rings and was back to sub MOA. Returned it to Vortex and got another that is still in the box.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide