Print Thread
2yr Old Lab Stopped Retrieving....HELP!! #6399065 08/08/16 07:09 PM
E
ETHunter39 Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
E
I have a 2yr old chocolate lab that I have been training for her fist hunt since I got her when she was 7 weeks old. I have read both Richard Wolters & Tom Dokken's books, and used a mix of both to train her. Last summer, I was running short on training time (I have two young boys), so I sent her to a trainer for a few months and she missed out on the 2015 season. When I got her back she was unbelievable. The last few weeks I have been prepping her for the 2016 dove season and everything was going fine. Friday evening, I took her out with my dad and a buddy to do some skeet shooting. I've been shooting rifles, pistols & shotguns around her since she was a pup and never had any issues. However, Friday she seemed pretty nervous sitting at heel while the others were shooting, as I threw the skeet. I praised her after every shot, and after reassuring her, she seemed to become a lot more comfortable. After we got done shooting, I was going to work on some retrieves with her, which I do almost every day. I never over work her and if I can tell she is getting tired, will tease her with the bumper and then put it up before I wear her out. On Friday, she wouldn't retrieve the bumper at all. No big deal, I thought the heat had gotten to her and I put it up after 3 unsuccessful attempts. After letting her rest on Saturday, I got her out late yesterday evening for some work. She completely balked at getting the bumper from the first attempt on. She has been trained with force fetch and she had her collar on, so I tossed the bumper out and nicked her for encouragement with the collar. After a few times of this, she got the idea and would get the bumper, but only if I kept it really close (10 yards and in). I put her up because I am at a loss for what to do. Rather than seem excited about retrieving like she always has been, she seems very ne