Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cl3anslat3, VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet, koondawgman, orlandowiebe
60480 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77527
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41125
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32683
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30572
facebook
Forum Stats
60480 Members
45 Forums
476234 Topics
6247249 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6397896 - 08/07/16 02:20 PM Qd mount for apex
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 283
Loc: Holland, MI
I know I need the adapter and a good qd mount.
I want to be able to move my XD50A between my 233 AR and my Franklin F17M4.
I'll have 2 different profiles but I need to ensure a repeatable zero.

Anybody here take a Apex on and off of rifles and not have to rezero?

I can use CF on damage control property but otherwise have to use rimfire.

Any and all advise is appreciated from experienced users. A second thermal is not an option.

Top
#6397934 - 08/07/16 02:48 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: fr3db3ar]
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/10/11
Posts: 2552
Loc: McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
You need the UNV adapter and any good quality acog mount; i.e. Larue, Bobro, ADM, etc.
_________________________

Top
#6397935 - 08/07/16 02:48 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: fr3db3ar]
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/10/11
Posts: 2552
Loc: McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
_________________________

Top
#6397937 - 08/07/16 02:49 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: fr3db3ar]
MDMORROW Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/10/11
Posts: 2552
Loc: McKinney & Pottsboro, TX
A word of advice, mount the acog mount backwards the so the levers are on the right hand side of the gun. If not they interfere with being able to plug into the port on the scope for video out or external power.
_________________________

Top
#6398183 - 08/07/16 06:59 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: MDMORROW]
syncerus Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/01/08
Posts: 1993
Loc: Dallas, TX
Originally Posted By: MDMORROW
A word of advice, mount the acog mount backwards the so the levers are on the right hand side of the gun. If not they interfere with being able to plug into the port on the scope for video out or external power.


Nice tip!
_________________________
NRA Endowment & DSC Lifer

Top
#6398252 - 08/07/16 07:38 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: fr3db3ar]
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 283
Loc: Holland, MI
Thanks for that tip. I knew about the parts needed from reading. I'm concerned about repeatability of zero after removal and transfer.

Top
#6398481 - 08/07/16 11:30 PM Re: Qd mount for apex [Re: fr3db3ar]
nak Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 783
Loc: DFW
I bought the UNV adapter and their single screw Acog mount. The bar on opposite side from the thumb screw is spring loaded with a pretty stout spring. It has two cross bars to engage the rail slots better. The key thing about it being spring loaded is that its easy to remove and reattach one handed. Grasping the Apex across the top, you depress the thumb screw with your middle finger and kind of roll it onto the rail. Since is is fairly secure at this point, you can use the same hand to make sure its pressed firmly forward, then tighten the snot of out the thumb screw. This allows you to use the Apex as a monocle for scanning, then easily reattach the scope while you hold the rifle in the other hand.

My brain tried to tell me it just couldn't provide good return to normal, but I went through two boxes of ammo playing with it and I was impressed. Since thermal is a little more challenging on the target range (your hot or cold bull tends to grow and spread across the target) trying to talk group size is probably a little unfair...but return to zero was more than adequate to dispatch several juvenile raccoons at 165 yards.
_________________________
NRA Lifer / Member TSRA

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide