Print Thread
Refinishing Wood Furniture #6354260 07/01/16 12:18 PM
S
Sick Train Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
S
Any of you guys have experience in refinishing wood stocks? I purchased a Romanian SAR1 AK 47 and decided to refinish the wood furniture on it since someone had painted them brown and they looked horrible. I've never tried this before but figured they couldn't come out any worse than they already looked. I used Citristrip to get the paint and varnish off. Then sanded it with 100 & 220 grit. Applied a total of 4 coats of minwax red oak stain. It's been at least 30 hours since the last coat of stain and the wood still looks shiny and wet in some areas. Not sure if I didn't wipe enough off in between coats or what. Had figured that by now they would have been dried enough to start applying the wipe on poly. Should I continue to wait however long it takes to dry or take some 0000 steel wool or fine sandpaper to them and apply another coat of stain? Just read on minwax webpage that I can just apply another coat of stain then wipe off and it will take of the extra stain that was on there. So might give that a try first. Took a couple of quick pics to get an idea of what I'm looking at. What do you guys think?

Here's what I started with. Notice the paint on them.

This was after 24 hours of the last coat of stain.

Last edited by Sick Train; 07/01/16 12:42 PM.
Re: Refinishing Wood Furniture [Re: Sick Train] #6354349 07/01/16 01:42 PM
C
Colt W. Knight Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
C
You didn't get all the original finish off.

Re: Refinishing Wood Furniture [Re: Sick Train] #6354371 07/01/16 01:58 PM
603Country Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity