Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Before you buy land... #6343617 06/22/16 10:50 AM
JohnRussell Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
I was just sending an email to Macy Ledbetter and wanted to make a note here. If you do not know who Macy is, google him and Wildlife Biologist.

BTW - I am writing this for a point - I am watching good friends lose their ranches right and left because they do not take their WLM seriously from the start. Good people... that did not factor in a LARGE sum of money (and I am talking a few thousand) right off the bat as part of their ranch cost, to get professional help OR to buy the tools needed to kickstart a really aggressive WLM plan, thus they lost it and got taxed out of their ranches, which they REALLY did not plan on).

I get on my "soapbox" all the time about Wildlife Management. I love it. I am no expert, not even close, that is Macy. I bent that guy's ear so much it is probably dragging the ground right now and the man came back with a smile and not one but multiple answers every single time.

So, why am I making this post? I get 1-2 minimum emails every month of people looking for land in Edwards county, or land in general, and how to buy, what to look for, what to run away from. Again, I am no expert, don't have a Realtors license, heck, I do not make money on any of it, but I sure do make a good amount of new friends, and to me, that is worth it. What do I have? I have a Wildlife plan.

Big deal, right? I thought so....till I started doing a plan 6 years ago. At that time, I was amazed at the total lack of wildlife plans on the internet. I am a DBA (Database Administrator). I have been a tech guy since Yahoo was gray pages with blue text and the only game in town. I have given seminars on Internet and Marketing etc for thousands.. and yet I could not, for the life of me, find real examples of what a plan should be.