Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Big Star Lacy Dogs, Hackertrap, mkk, RoberLaughlin, htxhunter34
61537 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80580
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44029
BOBO the Clown 41814
BMD 40600
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36737
txshntr 34224
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31087
facebook
Forum Stats
61537 Members
46 Forums
423078 Topics
5840537 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#6331789 - 06/11/16 09:44 PM Raccoons?
b weezy Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/07/13
Posts: 134
Anybody have any tips on how to keep coons from climbing my feeder legs? I already have a cage around the motor and all it's doing is giving them something to hold on to while they spin my feeder.

Top
#6331793 - 06/11/16 09:48 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Creekrunner Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 10/19/12
Posts: 8364
Loc: Bexar/Gillespie, hunt Terrell
4"PVC, cut in 3+ foot lengths, screw a chain on one end and put the other chain end up high on the feeder leg. Not 100% foolproof, but keeps a lot of 'em off. They can't grip the PVC too well and they spin around with the chain.


_________________________
...and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth. Gen. 1:28

Top
#6331834 - 06/11/16 10:41 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
rexmitchell Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/11/13
Posts: 1963
Yep, pic pipe around the legs, they just spin it and can't get a grip.
_________________________

Top
#6331850 - 06/11/16 11:07 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: rexmitchell]
MathMan Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/24/10
Posts: 1595
Loc: South Texas
Originally Posted By: rexmitchell
Yep, pic pipe around the legs, they just spin it and can't get a grip.


I agree. This is the best of what we've tried. Have had no pics of coons on feeders since.
_________________________


Top
#6331957 - 06/12/16 07:45 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Western Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/20/11
Posts: 24455
Loc: Wise County Texas
What CR said..larger cage may help with the smart ones as well.


CR, some big E TEx coons under that feeder peep
_________________________
Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis


Top
#6332075 - 06/12/16 09:12 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
b weezy Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/07/13
Posts: 134
Thanks guys...I'll be buying some chain and pipe and fixing it up next weekend

Top
#6332081 - 06/12/16 09:16 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Wilhunt Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2750
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Put a little grease on the PVC, not the whole pipe just a small part.

Top
#6333157 - 06/13/16 12:36 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
S.A. hunter Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/22/11
Posts: 2548
Loc: Buda Texas
You can't stop them!

Top
#6333712 - 06/13/16 01:56 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: S.A. hunter]
SniperRAB Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 03/26/12
Posts: 21271
Loc: Nurturing Biosphere Mothership
Originally Posted By: S.A. hunter
You can't stop them!


PVC Pipe wont stop them..

Simple..


Eliminator Feeder Plates
Dukes Dog Proof Traps and repeat process...
_________________________

Top
#6334293 - 06/13/16 09:52 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: SniperRAB]
flintknapper Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/18/15
Posts: 1021
Loc: Deep East Texas
Two things that work for me:

Duke Dog Proof Traps and a .17HMR @ 100 yds.

Trap until they get wise, then set up 75-100 yds out and snipe the rest.

Wait a month, rinse and repeat.



_________________________
Spartans ask not...how many, but where!

Top
#6334353 - 06/13/16 11:18 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
HarperDeer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 05/25/11
Posts: 224
Loc: Austin TX
The Dukes traps work good. I have a dozen and run a trap line every time I go to the ranch. I bait mine with sardines.

Top
#6334461 - 06/14/16 07:39 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: flintknapper]
SniperRAB Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 03/26/12
Posts: 21271
Loc: Nurturing Biosphere Mothership
Originally Posted By: flintknapper
Two things that work for me:

Duke Dog Proof Traps and a .17HMR @ 100 yds.

Trap until they get wise, then set up 75-100 yds out and snipe the rest.

Wait a month, rinse and repeat.






Sweet Setup Flint.... up
_________________________

Top
#6334694 - 06/14/16 11:07 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
cabosandinh Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/12/13
Posts: 1284
Loc: Dallas, TX
my experience, they have learned to chew on the pipe to get grips,
over time they learn to get just enough grips then jump to destination

I have traps, and easily kill 5 at a time but they keep coming

lately, i've been playing tricks on them to get them frustrated.
I put grease on all the legs. They get frustrated after 15-45 min and leave

Top
#6338793 - 06/17/16 02:20 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
dogcatcher Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/17/06
Posts: 80580
Loc: Abilene or on the road...
Our cages are the same diameter as the barrel, makes it almost impossible for them to reach the spinner plates.
_________________________
Combat Infantryman, the ultimate hunter where the prey shoots back.
"Illegitimus non carborundum est"

_______ Old style calls for today's outdoorsman_________

Top
#6339535 - 06/18/16 08:12 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
ELKMTB Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/18/12
Posts: 125
Loc: DFW
Can coons jump? I would think you would have to have 4-5 feet of pipe to do anygood

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide