Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
bigcoyote, Buck skinner 5, elizeabthenall, firefish3055, Tommy C.
63659 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 87476
stxranchman 52745
bill oxner 46656
RKHarm24 44577
rifleman 44360
BOBO the Clown 43561
BMD 40879
Big Orn 37484
SnakeWrangler 35513
txshntr 35174
facebook
Forum Stats
63659 Members
45 Forums
452599 Topics
6253797 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
#6331789 - 06/11/16 09:44 PM Raccoons?
b weezy Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/07/13
Posts: 186
Anybody have any tips on how to keep coons from climbing my feeder legs? I already have a cage around the motor and all it's doing is giving them something to hold on to while they spin my feeder.

Top
#6331793 - 06/11/16 09:48 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Creekrunner Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/19/12
Posts: 10141
Loc: Bexar/Gillespie, hunt Terrell
4"PVC, cut in 3+ foot lengths, screw a chain on one end and put the other chain end up high on the feeder leg. Not 100% foolproof, but keeps a lot of 'em off. They can't grip the PVC too well and they spin around with the chain.


_________________________
...and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth. Gen. 1:28

Top
#6331834 - 06/11/16 10:41 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
rexmitchell Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 02/11/13
Posts: 2479
Yep, pic pipe around the legs, they just spin it and can't get a grip.

Top
#6331850 - 06/11/16 11:07 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: rexmitchell]
MathMan Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 07/24/10
Posts: 1764
Loc: South Texas
Originally Posted By: rexmitchell
Yep, pic pipe around the legs, they just spin it and can't get a grip.


I agree. This is the best of what we've tried. Have had no pics of coons on feeders since.

Top
#6331957 - 06/12/16 07:45 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Western Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/20/11
Posts: 25967
Loc: Wise County Texas
What CR said..larger cage may help with the smart ones as well.


CR, some big E TEx coons under that feeder peep
_________________________
“Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic”

Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis


Top
#6332075 - 06/12/16 09:12 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
b weezy Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/07/13
Posts: 186
Thanks guys...I'll be buying some chain and pipe and fixing it up next weekend

Top
#6332081 - 06/12/16 09:16 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
Wilhunt Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 3693
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Put a little grease on the PVC, not the whole pipe just a small part.

Top
#6333157 - 06/13/16 12:36 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
S.A. hunter Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/22/11
Posts: 4075
Loc: Buda Texas
You can't stop them!

Top
#6333712 - 06/13/16 01:56 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: S.A. hunter]
SniperRAB Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 03/26/12
Posts: 21271
Loc: Nurturing Biosphere Mothership
Originally Posted By: S.A. hunter
You can't stop them!


PVC Pipe wont stop them..

Simple..


Eliminator Feeder Plates
Dukes Dog Proof Traps and repeat process...
_________________________

Top
#6334293 - 06/13/16 09:52 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: SniperRAB]
flintknapper Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/18/15
Posts: 1132
Loc: Deep East Texas
Two things that work for me:

Duke Dog Proof Traps and a .17HMR @ 100 yds.

Trap until they get wise, then set up 75-100 yds out and snipe the rest.

Wait a month, rinse and repeat.



_________________________
Spartans ask not...how many, but where!

Top
#6334353 - 06/13/16 11:18 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
HarperDeer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 05/25/11
Posts: 224
Loc: Austin TX
The Dukes traps work good. I have a dozen and run a trap line every time I go to the ranch. I bait mine with sardines.

Top
#6334461 - 06/14/16 07:39 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: flintknapper]
SniperRAB Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 03/26/12
Posts: 21271
Loc: Nurturing Biosphere Mothership
Originally Posted By: flintknapper
Two things that work for me:

Duke Dog Proof Traps and a .17HMR @ 100 yds.

Trap until they get wise, then set up 75-100 yds out and snipe the rest.

Wait a month, rinse and repeat.






Sweet Setup Flint.... up
_________________________

Top
#6334694 - 06/14/16 11:07 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
cabosandinh Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/12/13
Posts: 1498
Loc: Dallas, TX
my experience, they have learned to chew on the pipe to get grips,
over time they learn to get just enough grips then jump to destination

I have traps, and easily kill 5 at a time but they keep coming

lately, i've been playing tricks on them to get them frustrated.
I put grease on all the legs. They get frustrated after 15-45 min and leave

Top
#6338793 - 06/17/16 02:20 PM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
dogcatcher Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/17/06
Posts: 87476
Loc: Abilene or on the road...
Our cages are the same diameter as the barrel, makes it almost impossible for them to reach the spinner plates.
_________________________
Combat Infantryman, the ultimate hunter where the prey shoots back.
_____________"Illegitimus non carborundum est"_______________




Top
#6339535 - 06/18/16 08:12 AM Re: Raccoons? [Re: b weezy]
ELKMTB Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/18/12
Posts: 167
Loc: DFW
Can coons jump? I would think you would have to have 4-5 feet of pipe to do anygood

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide