Print Thread
Hog trapping #6266650 04/19/16 02:46 PM
M
macec3(TX) Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
M
Does someone want to trap some hogs? They are in my hay field and that is the last straw.
Located in south Rusk county (Mount Enterprise/Laneville) area.
Call 903-863-2228 after about 7 PM or send me a PM.

Re: Hog trapping [Re: macec3(TX)] #6266930 04/19/16 06:09 PM
F
flintknapper Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
F
Originally Posted By: macec3(TX)
Does someone want to trap some hogs? They are in my hay field and that is the last straw.
Located in south Rusk county (Mount Enterprise/Laneville) area.
Call 903-863-2228 after about 7 PM or send me a PM.

Mace it would probably be more effective to have someone come in with dogs. I'm not a big proponent of running pigs with dogs (for a variety of reasons) but if you just need them gone (for a while) there is no better method.

To 'trap' them (the best method, IMO)....would require the pigs visit your property on a fairly regular basis.

If I were doing it, I would first set up cameras to see when the hogs are coming in and what the make up of the group is (age and numbers). After that I would select the best site to construct a 'pen' trap and then bait it out with the entrance propped open and tied back.

When (and IF) the hogs become comfortable going inside, I would then set the 'triggering' mechanism.

This is what I set up on my place:

I am about 30 minutes South of you.

Spartans ask not...how many, but where!
Re: Hog trapping [Re: macec3(TX)] #6267041 04/19/16 07:27 PM
T
TexasOutdoorsman Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
T
I dont trap any more, I do night hunting with red or green mounted lights on my rifles or i use night vision. I am Located in Nacogdoches and i would love to help you with your problem if it will put meat on my table while making a new friend.

Thanks Conner cowboy

Ill PM You also

texas

Tejas Wildlife Company - Selling Apparel to Benefit Wildlife!
Instagram - @tejaswildlifeco