Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
TimberGiants.com, alternate707420, HunterB712, beardbud1, BTurner12971
63500 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 86295
stxranchman 52401
bill oxner 45372
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44349
BOBO the Clown 43356
BMD 40820
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35133
SnakeWrangler 33940
facebook
Forum Stats
63500 Members
45 Forums
448790 Topics
6200502 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6239663 - 03/28/16 08:13 PM Rookie question
TxsHunter99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/22/14
Posts: 161
I'm trying to hang up my animal mounts in my upstairs game room and it seems that there isn't a beam anywhere. I don't know if this is typical or just my luck. My question is can I use toggle bolts or something similar (maybe less permanent) to insert into the drywall and will it hold? I know drywall isn't made for strength but I thought maybe with the proper bolts and weight distribution it would be alright. Thanks in advance..

Top
#6239670 - 03/28/16 08:15 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
BigPig Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 11850
Loc: Forney, Tx
Studs are there, buy a stud finder or measure 16 inches from a corner and use a small drill bit to locate the stud. Look for electrical plugs, there is always a stud on one side of the plug
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6239674 - 03/28/16 08:22 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
rickym Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/14/15
Posts: 5694
Loc: texas
Yup, just gotta measure and know that your 2x4 studs are not actually 2" thick. It'll come into play once you make it so far down a wall.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Grizz
Wingshooting is like sex for me - I love doing it but I'm just not that good at it.

Top
#6239683 - 03/28/16 08:32 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
StretchR Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 05/14/14
Posts: 359
Loc: Hutto, TX (Williamson Co)
Depending on the contractor and if you are in an area with wind-load requirements or not, the wall studs may be on 24" centers.

Top
#6239711 - 03/28/16 08:51 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
TxsHunter99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/22/14
Posts: 161
I found it and got 1 mount up, thanks for the reassurance guys.. I guess I just needed to know they built my house correctly lol cheers

Top
#6239721 - 03/28/16 08:57 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
SheepHunter Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/28/12
Posts: 1784
Loc: East Texas
Now we need a worthless

Top
#6239733 - 03/28/16 09:06 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
TxsHunter99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/22/14
Posts: 161
They're nothing too fancy man I'm not a big trophy hunter or anything... Just my first buck I shot in 2014 and a ram I shot shortly after.. I'll see if I can post it.

Top
#6239735 - 03/28/16 09:08 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
TxsHunter99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/22/14
Posts: 161

Top
#6239774 - 03/28/16 09:26 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
stxranchman Online   content
Obie Juan Kenobi

Registered: 08/04/10
Posts: 52401
cheers
_________________________


Top
#6239782 - 03/28/16 09:30 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: StretchR]
BigPig Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 11850
Loc: Forney, Tx
Originally Posted By: StretchR
Depending on the contractor and if you are in an area with wind-load requirements or not, the wall studs may be on 24" centers.


So you're saying I didn't need to build my blind on 16" centers? roflmao
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6239791 - 03/28/16 09:38 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
rabbit_jack Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/13/16
Posts: 342
Loc: Central Texas
cheers
_________________________

"I call that bold talk for a one-eyed fat man!"

Top
#6240007 - 03/29/16 06:48 AM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
Big_Ag Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/23/12
Posts: 1234
Loc: Denton or Knox County
Nice mounts

Top
#6240244 - 03/29/16 10:27 AM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
ZK-315 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 10/11/13
Posts: 2046
Loc: Temple...Hunt in Freestone Co.
up Looks good.

Always use a stud. I thought I could use a drywall anchor for one of my mounts and it didn't hold up to the task. There wasn't a stud in the center of the short wall, hence the reason for the anchor. It hung for about a week, and one evening while watching tv in the other room, we heard a big crash. Sure enough, it let loose and broke the skull plate between the antlers. Talk about upset!! cry

Top
#6240272 - 03/29/16 10:57 AM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
Lone Cowboy Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 10/05/12
Posts: 32
Loc: Longmont, CO
these buildex EZ ancor

and the twist and locks next to them are amazing

a stud is always better, but sometimes......................


Edited by Lone Cowboy (03/29/16 10:57 AM)
_________________________
Brian H
Longmont CO

Top
#6240371 - 03/29/16 12:37 PM Re: Rookie question [Re: TxsHunter99]
TxsHunter99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/22/14
Posts: 161
Thanks for the advice guys and I am real sorry to hear that ZK, I can't imagine the feeling.. I think after years of learning from my own mistakes I'll learn from yalls for a while roflmao

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2018 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide