Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
orlandowiebe, Z-man65, LWH, BigHit, Sifat
60476 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77503
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41122
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32681
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60476 Members
45 Forums
476169 Topics
6246410 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6229451 - 03/19/16 04:14 PM Remote range on e-callers
Inky Doc Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/05/08
Posts: 2152
Loc: Spring, TX
I bought a Foxpro FX3 when they were the latest and greatest and I think it's time to retire it and get a new one. I've always felt the Foxpro's remote range was lacking. Now I see many e-callers that boast 200+ yard and non-LOS ranges. What experience does anyone have with newer, longer ranged e-callers? Also, having a remote range of a mile is useless if the sound is reminiscent of a vinyl record.

Top
#6264072 - 04/17/16 02:32 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
Phlash Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 10/05/14
Posts: 75
My Alpha Dogg by Primos will reach 200 yds with lithium batteries, but only about 140yds with alkaline. Not sure why there is such a difference.

Top
#6345163 - 06/23/16 12:47 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
gogburn Offline


Registered: 01/21/09
Posts: 2181
Loc: Fort Worth
Quote:
Also, having a remote range of a mile is useless if the sound is reminiscent of a vinyl record.


Yeah, be kind of useless unless you had a 50 cal also. aim Maybe it's just me but I thought the idea was to call them in close. confused2

I'm not sure why you would need more than 100 yards. I have the Primos Alpha Dog and haven't had a need to use it over 100 yards, though it would probably work farther.
_________________________
Good Hunting,
Gary

Top
#6392462 - 08/02/16 08:01 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
Kung Fu Widgeon Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/11/12
Posts: 1237
Loc: Blooming Grove
My alpha dog won't go beyond about 30-40 yards unless I'm elevated.
_________________________
"I'm not happy to see you. That's just my Brucellosis acting up."

Dove:33
Blue Wing Teal:4
Redheads:6
Pintail:1
Scaup:1

Top
#6393466 - 08/03/16 03:04 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
SapperTitan Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 11/17/10
Posts: 17076
Loc: Killeen/Ft Hood, TX
Ive personally seen this caller go beyond 200 yds no problem as long as you are in line of sight.

Johnny Stewart Game call


Edited by SapperTitan (08/03/16 03:05 PM)
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I could never repay you for the pleasure I've gotten out of your meat package.


Top
#6413506 - 08/17/16 09:25 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
PWRANCH Online   content
Woodsman

Registered: 04/19/16
Posts: 109
Loc: San Angelo, TX
FOXPRO IS TERRIBLE WITH RANGE I continue to struggle with mine every weekend that I use it. I get so frustrated with it.

I am thinking about trying one of the new ICOTECH calls.
_________________________

432-770-5722

Top
#6413648 - 08/17/16 10:27 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: PWRANCH]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1158
Loc: Waco
Originally Posted By: PWRANCH
FOXPRO IS TERRIBLE WITH RANGE I continue to struggle with mine every weekend that I use it. I get so frustrated with it.

I am thinking about trying one of the new ICOTECH calls.


I have owned almost every model Foxpro made and have not had much trouble at all with range unless there was some problem. When they came out with the new remoteTX1000 I think I checked mine and could get it to function 450 yards away.
What model do you have?

Top
#6423178 - 08/24/16 07:52 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: DStroud]
PWRANCH Online   content
Woodsman

Registered: 04/19/16
Posts: 109
Loc: San Angelo, TX
Originally Posted By: DStroud
Originally Posted By: PWRANCH
FOXPRO IS TERRIBLE WITH RANGE I continue to struggle with mine every weekend that I use it. I get so frustrated with it.

I am thinking about trying one of the new ICOTECH calls.


I have owned almost every model Foxpro made and have not had much trouble at all with range unless there was some problem. When they came out with the new remoteTX1000 I think I checked mine and could get it to function 450 yards away.
What model do you have?


I just have the Wilfire 2 with the foxjack 2 decoy. I have contacted them and they simply tell me I must be doing something wrong but I have put the best lithium batteries in the remote and caller with no success. I actually put it on top of a post and went about 50 yards away and it still wouldnt control the unit. I may have a defective unit but I will never know. I simply just put it about 15-20 yards from my shooting point and hope for the best.
_________________________

432-770-5722

Top
#6429709 - 08/29/16 03:06 PM Re: Remote range on e-callers [Re: Inky Doc]
Big_Country01 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/20/08
Posts: 2394
Loc: Gladewater
In my experience, 100 yards is plenty far for daytime hunting. You just want to get the sound away from your stand to allow you some freedom on movement. You don't want the animal to make it all the way to the caller, anyway. Nighttime hunting, the caller stays right next to me.
_________________________

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide