Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
timlewi14, JamesThompson, Hunterwannabe, Zeb B, hillcountryredraider
60449 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77400
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41094
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33684
bill oxner 32636
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60449 Members
45 Forums
475896 Topics
6242936 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6228029 - 03/18/16 10:02 AM scope mount for AR15?
destroyer4570 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/02/12
Posts: 149
Hello all, I have a question as to what scope mount I could use on an AR15 that is high enough to clear the rear magpul pop up sight. I am mounting a Bushnell AR scope with a 40mm objective. What height and brand do I look for in a mount that will give me the clearance on the rear sight? Please provide and info and thank you in advance for your time and input.

Top
#6228033 - 03/18/16 10:07 AM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
APynckel Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/14/13
Posts: 115
Loc: Houston Tx
Can't go wrong with Larue Tactical. Their SPR is high quality...

http://www.larue.com/larue-tactical-spr-m4-scope-mount-qd-lt-104

Top
#6228075 - 03/18/16 10:31 AM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
Nitro27 Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 11/06/12
Posts: 452
Loc: Terrell,TX
I went with the pepr mount and i am satisfied with it. Haven't tried to disconnect and reconnect to confirm zero. If i was interested in that i would lean to towards a premium mount like the larue.

Top
#6228172 - 03/18/16 11:36 AM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
BigPig Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 9502
Loc: Forney, Tx
Your idea of using scope rings to raise the scope high enough in order to use the BUIS isn't going to work because the rings will most likely be solid so you can't see through the base. Also, due to where you position the scope with the stock fully extended, there won't be enough room for the BUIS to pop up, unless you push the stock forward a few notches along with moving the scope forward. And hear is the next problem, if your scope isn't 1x on the lowest setting then you won't be able to cowitness because you won't be able to see the front sight. Your best option is to run a setup like the Burris PEPR for scope mount, it's a good mount and keeps the center of the scope where iron sights would be on a rifle, same height. Then get you some off set 45 degree mounts to mount your BUIS on
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6228235 - 03/18/16 12:38 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: BigPig]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 2844
Loc: Abilene
Originally Posted By: BigPig
Your idea of using scope rings to raise the scope high enough in order to use the BUIS isn't going to work because the rings will most likely be solid so you can't see through the base. Also, due to where you position the scope with the stock fully extended, there won't be enough room for the BUIS to pop up, unless you push the stock forward a few notches along with moving the scope forward. And hear is the next problem, if your scope isn't 1x on the lowest setting then you won't be able to cowitness because you won't be able to see the front sight. Your best option is to run a setup like the Burris PEPR for scope mount, it's a good mount and keeps the center of the scope where iron sights would be on a rifle, same height. Then get you some off set 45 degree mounts to mount your BUIS on


Yup. Or forget about the irons and buy a 1-4 or 1-6 scope.
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Top
#6228603 - 03/18/16 05:32 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
CharlieCTx Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 05/27/13
Posts: 777
Loc: Flower Mound, TX
I put a Larue on my X-Sight Digital scope on my M&P-10. It is true to form, on and off a couple times, held the aim point perfectly.

Charlie

Top
#6229456 - 03/19/16 04:19 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
What BigPig said, takes very little to be accustomed to.
_________________________
TS

Top
#6229707 - 03/19/16 08:26 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: Tactical Cowboy]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: Tactical Cowboy
Originally Posted By: BigPig
Your idea of using scope rings to raise the scope high enough in order to use the BUIS isn't going to work because the rings will most likely be solid so you can't see through the base. Also, due to where you position the scope with the stock fully extended, there won't be enough room for the BUIS to pop up, unless you push the stock forward a few notches along with moving the scope forward. And hear is the next problem, if your scope isn't 1x on the lowest setting then you won't be able to cowitness because you won't be able to see the front sight. Your best option is to run a setup like the Burris PEPR for scope mount, it's a good mount and keeps the center of the scope where iron sights would be on a rifle, same height. Then get you some off set 45 degree mounts to mount your BUIS on


Yup. Or forget about the irons and buy a 1-4 or 1-6 scope.


Agreed.

Precision Reflex is a scope mount I've been trying out. Thus far it has held up well. It is holding an SS 1-6X and I could not be happier. I can get a clean sight picture ten feet, to 400 yards, and have shot those distances with the set up. On 1X I can clearly see the muzzle.

I also have a Burris XTR II 3-15X in for review. They make a 1.5-6X. If it is up to the same quality that the 3-15X is, then I bet it would be another good option.

Go scope, or irons, not both.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#6229744 - 03/19/16 08:47 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 282
Loc: Holland, MI
I just put a coyote special on mine using P223 (2 piece) mounts. It clears the rear flip up but of course you can't use both at the same time. If the scope ever fails I can take it off and go right to the BUIS.

Top
#6233247 - 03/22/16 08:01 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
Colt W. Knight Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 03/22/11
Posts: 2041
Loc: West Virginia
I used the 1-piece Leupold mount on mine. I really liked the Leupold because it looks so much nicer than a lot of the less expensive models that have 2-3x more metal and bunch of screws everywhere. More streamlined I guess.


Top
#6235388 - 03/24/16 01:35 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
destroyer4570 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/02/12
Posts: 149
Colt, thank you for your reply. That is exactly the scope mount set up I was looking for. I want to use a scope for hunting and then have the option to take off the scope and QD mount set up all together to use the iron sights without having to install the rear sight again. Thank you for your post I will be looking for a QD mount like that.

Top
#6235458 - 03/24/16 02:41 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
rexmitchell Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/11/13
Posts: 1704
Originally Posted By: destroyer4570
Colt, thank you for your reply. That is exactly the scope mount set up I was looking for. I want to use a scope for hunting and then have the option to take off the scope and QD mount set up all together to use the iron sights without having to install the rear sight again. Thank you for your post I will be looking for a QD mount like that.


I have a QD PEPR mount that is 30 mm I'm looking to sell, PM me if interested. Designed for what you are looking at.
_________________________

Top
#6235493 - 03/24/16 03:13 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
Colt W. Knight Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 03/22/11
Posts: 2041
Loc: West Virginia
The Leupold isn't really QD, but it is attached with 2 big nuts that are easily taken on and off. Nothing easily stripped or marred like hex or torx screws

Top
#6243290 - 03/31/16 04:29 PM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
destroyer4570 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/02/12
Posts: 149
rex, thanks for your reply but i already went with another option since I needed a mount for a 1" scope, had I had a 30mm scope I would have been interested, thanks again.

Top
#6244220 - 04/01/16 10:38 AM Re: scope mount for AR15? [Re: destroyer4570]
Gwood88 Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 10/25/13
Posts: 292
My next build I am probably going to use and ADM or pony up for a LaRue.

The Primary Arms mount is good for a one piece budget but it's heavy.
_________________________
Texas A&M Class of 2011

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide