Print Thread
New to the North Dallas area #6190912 02/19/16 06:03 PM
T
triggerjerker Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
T
Hi all, just moved to The Colony. Being a disabled vet I was able to get the "super combo" for free. So I have all these game tags, but no idea how to hunt. Anyone want to teach me? We could split the meat or something like that. I have my own traditional recurve bow and various bold action rifles I could use (all iron sights, no optic). So....if anyone wants to take on a newbie, Let me know!

Re: New to the North Dallas area [Re: triggerjerker] #6191213 02/19/16 10:36 PM
R
rickym Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
R
That's gonna be a long shot. Go shooting a lot and get really good with your weapons. Browse Craig's list and on here, find some cheap hog hunts and come deer season you can probably find a doe hunt where you can get a couple for cheap and use some of your tags. Turkey hunting can get expensive if you ever want to use those tags.

Hunting is big business in Texas so be ready to pull out your pocket book, and/or get to know some ranchers that aren't to far from you

Re: New to the North Dallas area [Re: triggerjerker] #6191333 02/20/16 12:24 AM
Deep Sea Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
welcome Glad you made it here to the forum. You will get lots of information on here if you just ask and or look for it. Like Rickym stated, tags are a lot easier to come by than places to use them. I personally never fill all my families tags. There are some great public land areas around the Dallas area to hunt. I put in for the public land hunts on TPWD website every year and usually end up with something for a hunt. You can usually get a hog hunt pretty cheap and those guys will give you some field experience. Good luck and good hunting!

Scott Eastty
AW Scott Construction Company
Bastrop, TX
512-845-0187
For all your metal building needs, state wide.
www.acscott.com
Re: New to the North Dallas area [Re: triggerjerker] #6191375 02/20/16 12:52 AM