Print Thread
Public Land hog hunting advice #6156535 01/27/16 12:51 AM
T
TX_300wsm Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
T
Hey folks, I'm looking for a little advice. Im fairly new to hunting and am having to figure out everything on my own. Currently all i hunt is public land. Ive spent a couple days out on the Tawakoni WMA scouting and spent an evening/morning in the blind out there this weekend but didn't see or hear anything other than some coyotes. Ive found plenty of tracks and fresh rooting, but as far as figuring out a pattern i am lost. Is my best bet gonna be setting up a few game cams to get an idea of when they are moving? If anyone has any pointers it would be greatly appreciated, all i got this weekend was covered in poison sumac/ivy!

Re: Public Land hog hunting advice [Re: TX_300wsm] #6156782 01/27/16 02:09 AM
1860.colt Online Content
emoji colt.45
Online Content
emoji colt.45
Not sure how much pressure Tawakoni gets during deer season... At OSBWMA did the archery hunts, tree stand gives ya elevated point of view, can see good distance... Specialy now with leaves off the tree... If ya finding fresh sign, move slowly around area, looking for trails droppings have bumped many hogs thick brush, fallen trees, tall grass... bang wish had the spare cash ta join ya, i need the exercise... Move alittle stop, move a little stop, scanning area for movement... i've had em jump up yards from me... cheers stay with it, its a blast, i varied my camera in a fany pac, did more videoing than chooten... Best wishes... flag

i'm postaddic
Re: Public Land hog hunting advice [Re: TX_300wsm] #6157134 01/27/16 05:50 AM
P
postoak Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
P