Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Rippem12, LPRJr, Newfoundland outfitter, GarageNite, brayden98
61801 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81338
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44146
BOBO the Clown 42131
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38102
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34314
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31222
facebook
Forum Stats
61801 Members
46 Forums
427491 Topics
5897025 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6158573 - 01/27/16 08:19 PM Tikka Scope Mounts
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 7177
Loc: N.E. TX
What are most of you using on this rifle? I don't know much about these guns other than the good reviews. The receiver looks like a 1965 22 receiver, just bigger.

Top
#6158584 - 01/27/16 08:26 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13914
Loc: North Texas.
I've been using the factory rings they come with. Not the best, but they work well for my purposes which is general hunting and varmint control.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158586 - 01/27/16 08:27 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1964
Loc: Justin, TX
Cannot stand the factory rings. Aluminum screws strip very easily. I'm familiar with Warne and Leupold Tikka mounts. They work fine. Warne rings fasten like the factory rings, only they are all steel and have Torx head instead of Allan. Leupold may make others but the one I'm familiar with uses a base and Std. Rings.
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6158600 - 01/27/16 08:31 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 21387
Loc: Texas
I am still using the factory rings they come with, so far so good. The rifles are not the lightest recoiling of the Tikkas but the hunting scopes are not heavy weight either. 270WSM and 338 Federal are what they are chambered in.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158623 - 01/27/16 08:39 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13914
Loc: North Texas.
Mine are .30-'06 and 7mm-08. They've worked well since day one, and it's been a few years.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158625 - 01/27/16 08:40 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: kmon1]
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 7177
Loc: N.E. TX
Originally Posted By: kmon1
I am still using the factory rings they come with, so far so good. The rifles are not the lightest recoiling of the Tikkas but the hunting scopes are not heavy weight either. 270WSM and 338 Federal are what they are chambered in.


Actually considering a 223 or would probably get a Sako A7 like my 270.

Top
#6158627 - 01/27/16 08:41 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13914
Loc: North Texas.
Man, I like those A7's.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158630 - 01/27/16 08:42 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1964
Loc: Justin, TX
If you are careful kmon1 they are not an issue. I have not had any I mounted come back. People that mounted the scope themselves bring them to the store and invariably the rings have been over torqued. I guess what I'm saying is there is less margin for error with the OEM rings.

Wasn't trying to toot my own horn but I do mount 10 to 40 scopes a week so I should be halfway decent at it.


Edited by booradley (01/27/16 08:44 PM)
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6158648 - 01/27/16 08:50 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
mbavo Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 8495
Loc: odessa tx
Currently using factory rings on my 2 tikkas.
No problems what so ever.

Top
#6158652 - 01/27/16 08:53 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1964
Loc: Justin, TX
Not saying they don't work, I just don't like them.


Edited by booradley (01/27/16 09:00 PM)
_________________________
Assistant Secretary - U.S. Dry Bean Council

Top
#6158684 - 01/27/16 09:11 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 21387
Loc: Texas
Aluminum rings and mounts will work, just do not over torque them.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158701 - 01/27/16 09:24 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 7177
Loc: N.E. TX
I wonder why Tikka would do something completely different from all of the rest of the manufacturers? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Does anybody think it is actually better that the receiver and scope mounting options of all of the other manufacturers? Does this create a stronger mounting system that all of the others? I don't even like the looks of it. It looks like a Mickey Mouse set up to me.

Top
#6158702 - 01/27/16 09:24 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 7306
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
EGW rail & TPS rings.. Not a fan of the factory rings & the Vortex is a 30mm tube..
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Jungleexplorer
I really hate to do what I am about to do, because it will be very painful for you.



Top
#6158746 - 01/27/16 09:53 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 21387
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: DannyB
I wonder why Tikka would do something completely different from all of the rest of the manufacturers? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Does anybody think it is actually better that the receiver and scope mounting options of all of the other manufacturers? Does this create a stronger mounting system that all of the others? I don't even like the looks of it. It looks like a Mickey Mouse set up to me.



The most solid mount on a rifle I ever owned was on the TC ICON. That rifle has the rail milled into the receiver then just use your rings of choice. Expensive to make one that way though.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158858 - 01/27/16 11:34 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: kmon1]
BushFamilyNine Offline
Tracker

Registered: 05/26/13
Posts: 816
Loc: Iowa


Tikka Performance makes a scope rail. This is my rifle with one on it. Rings are Burris Xtreme Tactical.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide