Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Southtx956, Rex Holloway, JavierFigueroa37, captaindye, jkkleypas
60873 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 78747
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43902
BOBO the Clown 41235
BMD 40575
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34024
bill oxner 33743
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30833
facebook
Forum Stats
60873 Members
45 Forums
413320 Topics
5757030 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6158573 - 01/27/16 08:19 PM Tikka Scope Mounts
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 6923
Loc: N.E. TX
What are most of you using on this rifle? I don't know much about these guns other than the good reviews. The receiver looks like a 1965 22 receiver, just bigger.
_________________________

Top
#6158584 - 01/27/16 08:26 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13792
Loc: North Texas.
I've been using the factory rings they come with. Not the best, but they work well for my purposes which is general hunting and varmint control.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158586 - 01/27/16 08:27 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1757
Loc: Justin, TX
Cannot stand the factory rings. Aluminum screws strip very easily. I'm familiar with Warne and Leupold Tikka mounts. They work fine. Warne rings fasten like the factory rings, only they are all steel and have Torx head instead of Allan. Leupold may make others but the one I'm familiar with uses a base and Std. Rings.
_________________________
Exclusive distributor of, "Spanish Jim's Rust Remover".

Top
#6158600 - 01/27/16 08:31 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20536
Loc: Texas
I am still using the factory rings they come with, so far so good. The rifles are not the lightest recoiling of the Tikkas but the hunting scopes are not heavy weight either. 270WSM and 338 Federal are what they are chambered in.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158623 - 01/27/16 08:39 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13792
Loc: North Texas.
Mine are .30-'06 and 7mm-08. They've worked well since day one, and it's been a few years.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158625 - 01/27/16 08:40 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: kmon1]
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 6923
Loc: N.E. TX
Originally Posted By: kmon1
I am still using the factory rings they come with, so far so good. The rifles are not the lightest recoiling of the Tikkas but the hunting scopes are not heavy weight either. 270WSM and 338 Federal are what they are chambered in.


Actually considering a 223 or would probably get a Sako A7 like my 270.
_________________________

Top
#6158627 - 01/27/16 08:41 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13792
Loc: North Texas.
Man, I like those A7's.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#6158630 - 01/27/16 08:42 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1757
Loc: Justin, TX
If you are careful kmon1 they are not an issue. I have not had any I mounted come back. People that mounted the scope themselves bring them to the store and invariably the rings have been over torqued. I guess what I'm saying is there is less margin for error with the OEM rings.

Wasn't trying to toot my own horn but I do mount 10 to 40 scopes a week so I should be halfway decent at it.


Edited by booradley (01/27/16 08:44 PM)
_________________________
Exclusive distributor of, "Spanish Jim's Rust Remover".

Top
#6158648 - 01/27/16 08:50 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
mbavo Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 8423
Loc: odessa tx
Currently using factory rings on my 2 tikkas.
No problems what so ever.

Top
#6158652 - 01/27/16 08:53 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
booradley Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1757
Loc: Justin, TX
Not saying they don't work, I just don't like them.


Edited by booradley (01/27/16 09:00 PM)
_________________________
Exclusive distributor of, "Spanish Jim's Rust Remover".

Top
#6158684 - 01/27/16 09:11 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20536
Loc: Texas
Aluminum rings and mounts will work, just do not over torque them.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158701 - 01/27/16 09:24 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
DannyB Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/15/04
Posts: 6923
Loc: N.E. TX
I wonder why Tikka would do something completely different from all of the rest of the manufacturers? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Does anybody think it is actually better that the receiver and scope mounting options of all of the other manufacturers? Does this create a stronger mounting system that all of the others? I don't even like the looks of it. It looks like a Mickey Mouse set up to me.
_________________________

Top
#6158702 - 01/27/16 09:24 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 7024
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
EGW rail & TPS rings.. Not a fan of the factory rings & the Vortex is a 30mm tube..
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I love happy endings.

Top
#6158746 - 01/27/16 09:53 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: DannyB]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20536
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: DannyB
I wonder why Tikka would do something completely different from all of the rest of the manufacturers? It just doesn't make any sense to me. Does anybody think it is actually better that the receiver and scope mounting options of all of the other manufacturers? Does this create a stronger mounting system that all of the others? I don't even like the looks of it. It looks like a Mickey Mouse set up to me.



The most solid mount on a rifle I ever owned was on the TC ICON. That rifle has the rail milled into the receiver then just use your rings of choice. Expensive to make one that way though.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6158858 - 01/27/16 11:34 PM Re: Tikka Scope Mounts [Re: kmon1]
BushFamilyNine Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 05/26/13
Posts: 783
Loc: Iowa


Tikka Performance makes a scope rail. This is my rifle with one on it. Rings are Burris Xtreme Tactical.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide