Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Goldensammy, Steel185, tsutton, Atl89, Gettnbirdy
61427 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80262
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44011
BOBO the Clown 41731
BMD 40584
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36184
txshntr 34182
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31063
facebook
Forum Stats
61427 Members
46 Forums
421324 Topics
5817261 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6152722 - 01/24/16 07:29 PM Change hand guards on they AR....
TCB Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 1634
Loc: Denton, TX
Now it won't cycle. I've run the piston and gas block correct, at least I think so. Is there something I'm missing?
_________________________

Top
#6152731 - 01/24/16 07:33 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BigPig Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 10448
Loc: Forney, Tx
Did you remove or move the gas tube? If it's not sitting inside the bolt it won't have the gas to cycle. It's going to be hard to figure out the problem without putting hands on it
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6152734 - 01/24/16 07:33 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
TexFlip Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/18/12
Posts: 9297
Loc: Chambers County
What all did you have to do to swap them out? Gas tube or block is probably mis-aligned.
_________________________

Top
#6152736 - 01/24/16 07:34 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BigPig Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 10448
Loc: Forney, Tx
Just realized you said piston. I'm not familiar enough with those to help, been a long time since I owned a piston rifle
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6152741 - 01/24/16 07:35 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 15366
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
Gas block alignment.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#6152794 - 01/24/16 07:56 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
TCB Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 1634
Loc: Denton, TX
Gas block alignment may have off. I was able to pull the hand guard and gas block down another 1/8" which should have the gas block lined up.
_________________________

Top
#6152908 - 01/24/16 08:49 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BassCat'99 Online   happy
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 997
Loc: Stratford Texas
If your's is a set screw gas block, remove the set screw closest to receiver, there is normally an indention on the underside of barrel, align the set screw hole with indention then insert set screw tighten and should be good to go.
_________________________
TS

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide