Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Adchunts, CoolCatDaddy, tommy shelton, TexasBuckeye7, Tangi
60412 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77313
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43776
BOBO the Clown 41084
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32568
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30560
facebook
Forum Stats
60412 Members
45 Forums
475534 Topics
6238192 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6152722 - 01/24/16 07:29 PM Change hand guards on they AR....
TCB Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 1549
Loc: Denton, TX
Now it won't cycle. I've run the piston and gas block correct, at least I think so. Is there something I'm missing?
_________________________

Top
#6152731 - 01/24/16 07:33 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BigPig Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 9477
Loc: Forney, Tx
Did you remove or move the gas tube? If it's not sitting inside the bolt it won't have the gas to cycle. It's going to be hard to figure out the problem without putting hands on it
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6152734 - 01/24/16 07:33 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
TexFlip Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/18/12
Posts: 8630
Loc: Harris County
What all did you have to do to swap them out? Gas tube or block is probably mis-aligned.
_________________________

Top
#6152736 - 01/24/16 07:34 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BigPig Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 9477
Loc: Forney, Tx
Just realized you said piston. I'm not familiar enough with those to help, been a long time since I owned a piston rifle
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#6152741 - 01/24/16 07:35 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
Gas block alignment.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#6152794 - 01/24/16 07:56 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
TCB Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/01/04
Posts: 1549
Loc: Denton, TX
Gas block alignment may have off. I was able to pull the hand guard and gas block down another 1/8" which should have the gas block lined up.
_________________________

Top
#6152908 - 01/24/16 08:49 PM Re: Change hand guards on they AR.... [Re: TCB]
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
If your's is a set screw gas block, remove the set screw closest to receiver, there is normally an indention on the underside of barrel, align the set screw hole with indention then insert set screw tighten and should be good to go.
_________________________
TS

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide