Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tangi, kylel, Confessor, May Harrison, Cowboy nation
60408 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77307
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43776
BOBO the Clown 41082
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32556
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30554
facebook
Forum Stats
60408 Members
45 Forums
475481 Topics
6237641 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6135627 - 01/14/16 12:53 PM virgin brass...? Chad..?
Kyle Horn Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/27/07
Posts: 1512
Loc: flower mound, Tx
so i am doing further load development on my Gap-10. it has a very tight match chamber. I know that "fire formed brass" is supposedly more consistent/accurate. however the shoulder is only set back .005 from my chamber. will it really effect my load development if i choose to use the virgin brass?
not that it matters but my data is as follows
gap-10 20"
.308
new win brass
178 amax
42-44 gr of varget
CCI LR

Top
#6135647 - 01/14/16 01:03 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9393
Loc: Lewisville, TX
It may change it up some. Just keep the head stamps the same. If you do a partial sizing, make sure they will chamber. I'd recommend a FL sizing for a gas gun.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6136046 - 01/14/16 05:19 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
Kyle Horn Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/27/07
Posts: 1512
Loc: flower mound, Tx
it is all Winchester. all FL sized. i guess i suck at asking my question correctly, but what i mean is virgin Winchester brass has shoulders sized.005-.007 deeper than my chamber. when i full length size i usually only bump back about .004" therefor these will have an extra .002-.003 to expand, will that aspect effect load development or accuracy?

Top
#6136069 - 01/14/16 05:33 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9393
Loc: Lewisville, TX
It can. I'll verify my load again from virgin brass to once fired brass. I normally don't see much difference. I did see some differences in my 6.5x47 Lapua from virgin brass to once fired. I sized it with a slight bump of .003", and picked up about 50 fps and had some sticky bolt lift. So, I may need to reduce my load a touch. It also didn't put them in the same hole like they did with the virgin brass.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6136076 - 01/14/16 05:35 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1155
Loc: Waco
So it's Actually NEW brass? If so there may be a slight change in pressure thus velocity once you resize but not enough to fret over and there is nothing you can do but fire and resize to suit yourself.

Top
#6136094 - 01/14/16 05:45 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
Kyle Horn Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/27/07
Posts: 1512
Loc: flower mound, Tx
so load develope with the virgin, then fine tune with once fired... i guess it sounds like i was being too OCD about the extra .002-.003 of setback

Top
#6136114 - 01/14/16 05:57 PM Re: virgin brass...? Chad..? [Re: Kyle Horn]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20282
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: Kyle Horn
so load develope with the virgin, then fine tune with once fired... i guess it sounds like i was being too OCD about the extra .002-.003 of setback


Exactly what I do. Most of the time your load with new brass will be very close to what you get with fire formed brass. Sometimes exactly works or sometimes a tenth or two more or less gets you there.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide