Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
why so many young spikes #6125281 01/08/16 02:14 PM
2good2Btru Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
This is my first year on my lease and there is a lot of deer. Its roughly about 2200 acres with 11 hunters. But i have noticed that every time i sit at a stand, i see 1 or 2 young spikes. Some will have 5" spikes and the others will range from 2 to 3 inches. I have allowed a lot of 3.5 year deer walk hoping that they will be much better in a year or two. Most of the guys on the lease are retired or about to be retired. I have noticed that they would rather not shoot a doe and take a spike. I really don't agree with that. So far we took about 14 bucks and 7 does on the property. This last weekend i heard about 3 of the guys that shot bucks that they were done for the season. But they did not take a single doe. Could there be too many does and not enough bucks? High number of does being bred late in the season having fawns late. Yearling spikes born late not having the extra month or two to grow into little forks. Now on the ratio, the weekend before thanksgiving was the best weekend for me. On two stands, I saw about 15 bucks and about 25 doe/fawns. 10 of the bucks were shooters but no older than 3.5

Re: why so many young spikes [Re: 2good2Btru] #6125298 01/08/16 02:24 PM
B
booger Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
B
make up for them and shoot 4 does then

Big ones line-up, little ones bunch-up
Re: why so many young spikes [Re: 2good2Btru] #6125307 01/08/16 02:28 PM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S