6236914 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#6125281 - 01/08/16 08:14 AM why so many young spikes
2good2Btru Offline
Woodsman

Loc: Houston, Tx
This is my first year on my lease and there is a lot of deer. Its roughly about 2200 acres with 11 hunters. But i have noticed that every time i sit at a stand, i see 1 or 2 young spikes. Some will have 5" spikes and the others will range from 2 to 3 inches. I have allowed a lot of 3.5 year deer walk hoping that they will be much better in a year or two. Most of the guys on the lease are retired or about to be retired. I have noticed that they would rather not shoot a doe and take a spike. I really don't agree with that. So far we took about 14 bucks and 7 does on the property. This last weekend i heard about 3 of the guys that shot bucks that they were done for the season. But they did not take a single doe. Could there be too many does and not enough bucks? High number of does being bred late in the season having fawns late. Yearling spikes born late not having the extra month or two to grow into little forks. Now on the ratio, the weekend before thanksgiving was the best weekend for me. On two stands, I saw about 15 bucks and about 25 doe/fawns. 10 of the bucks were shooters but no older than 3.5

#6125298 - 01/08/16 08:24 AM Re: why so many young spikes [Re: 2good2Btru]
booger Offline
Veteran Tracker

Loc: central Texas
make up for them and shoot 4 does then

#6125307 - 01/08/16 08:28 AM Re: why so many young spikes [Re: 2good2Btru]
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi