Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Yeehaw03, entropy, Texita, mrdagger, Deats
62651 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83233
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44267
BOBO the Clown 42720
bill oxner 40963
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34818
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31412
facebook
Forum Stats
62651 Members
46 Forums
438143 Topics
6035020 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#6122625 - 01/06/16 04:55 PM 280 or 280AI
Stilhuntin Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 05/26/13
Posts: 7
Happy New Year everyone,
I don't post often, but have lurked around and learned a bunch.
Looking at getting a new rifle and am kicking around one of the above mentioned.
I have a 7mm08, 25.06, 308 and 30.06. I probably don't need another rifle, but have the itch so not adding another doesn't seem to be an option. I don't hand load and will use for deer hunting some bean fields in Carolina.
Any/all comments will be appreciated.
Thanks

Top
#6122635 - 01/06/16 04:59 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
slayer12 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/28/07
Posts: 958
Loc: Whitney, Tx
I really like my 280 AI they are finally offering some factory ammo for it.
I handload and that is why I picked the AI.

Top
#6122636 - 01/06/16 04:59 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
postoak Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/19/09
Posts: 2768
Loc: The Woodlands, Tx
Well, you've got four rifles that will handle that task well so you definitely don't need a new one, but if you want one, I'd opt for a .270 or the .280 Rem. I like traditional cartridges that have been carried by lots of hunters through the years. The .280 AI may be that way in 50 years but it certainly isn't now.
_________________________
There are two types of people, those who divide people into two types and those who don't.

Top
#6122653 - 01/06/16 05:05 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 22263
Loc: Texas
Of those 2 considering what you have now it would be the 280AI. There really is not that much difference between the 7mm08 and 280, the AI would widen the gap a bit more.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbth..._PO#Post6605808

Top
#6122660 - 01/06/16 05:08 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
caddokiller Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/25/06
Posts: 5427
Loc: midlothian texas
Easy 280ai. You can shoot 280 ammo or 280 ai ammo in it with no problems.
_________________________
The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.- Thomas jefferson

Top
#6122668 - 01/06/16 05:11 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
ThreePeppers Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 11/06/06
Posts: 454
Loc: Fort Worth/Kent County
Why don't you go ahead and step up to the 7mm rem mag? Lots more rifle and ammo options.

Top
#6122738 - 01/06/16 05:54 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: ThreePeppers]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 21784
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: caddokiller
Easy 280ai. You can shoot 280 ammo or 280 ai ammo in it with no problems.


Agreed.

Originally Posted By: ThreePeppers
Why don't you go ahead and step up to the 7mm rem mag? Lots more rifle and ammo options.


+1
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6123078 - 01/06/16 08:51 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
280AI Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/18/07
Posts: 533
Loc: Fayetteville,TX
If you are shooting either one you should handload.

Top
#6123267 - 01/06/16 10:24 PM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1585
Loc: Waco
That's easy if you don't reload I would go 280AI as the 280 Rem is loaded pretty mild due to being chambered in Rem auto loaders. Now if you reload the 280 can leave the 7mm/08 in the dust and the AI version is only slightly better velocity wise. I have just rediscovered the 280 after having one back in the 1980's and it's been surprising me how potent it is with the newer powders available these days. My 23 inch barrel gets 2900+ with 168gr Berger Classic's and I ran the 160gr AB's even faster. Most folks using 7mm Mag's with factory ammo are not getting that kind of performance..... Don't tell them though as they will get all pouty.

Top
#6123650 - 01/07/16 09:36 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: caddokiller]
Korean Redneck Online   content


Registered: 06/24/09
Posts: 2433
Loc: Houston
Originally Posted By: caddokiller
Easy 280ai. You can shoot 280 ammo or 280 ai ammo in it with no problems.


Is that true? U mean like how I ca shoot a 38 special out of a 357?
That's interesting.

Top
#6123675 - 01/07/16 09:47 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 11492
Loc: Lewisville, TX
The 280 AI (Ackley Improved) is simply a 280 Rem fired in a 280 AI chamber. This is how you can fire form brass to load 280 AI. Nosler also makes factory 280 AI brass, but it is a little pricey.

The 280 AI (Ackley Improved) uses the parent 280 Rem case, and changes the shoulder angle to 40 degrees, and straightens the case walls some. It gains about 4 grains extra powder for about 75 fps, maybe 100 fps, gain over the 280 Rem.

If you shoot 280 Rem in a 280 AI chamber, the speeds will be reduced some, since there is more room now in the chamber. But it will fire form the brass to load for 280 AI.

I have loaded many bullet options in the 280 AI using Nosler brass. Comparing the cost of fire forming standard 280 cases to just buying Nosler 280 AI brass and loading it, the Nosler 280 AI is a cheaper option. Plus you get good brass to start with.
_________________________

Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6123677 - 01/07/16 09:48 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Korean Redneck]
glb1955 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 07/21/11
Posts: 352
Loc: Brazos County Texas
Originally Posted By: Korean Redneck
Originally Posted By: caddokiller
Easy 280ai. You can shoot 280 ammo or 280 ai ammo in it with no problems.


Is that true? U mean like how I ca shoot a 38 special out of a 357?
That's interesting.


Yes. Many, including me sometimes, just fire form their .280 brass. The Ackley brass is fairly easy to find but is not cheap. Accuracy does not suffer if you stay with a similar bullet (at least that is my experience).

Top
#6123681 - 01/07/16 09:49 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: caddokiller]
catslayer Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/11/12
Posts: 1017
Loc: Straight out of Johnson County
Originally Posted By: caddokiller
Easy 280ai. You can shoot 280 ammo or 280 ai ammo in it with no problems.


Yes this is true... This is actually how you get brass for .280AI, you "fireform" the brass.

I'd take 280AI over 7 Mag personally, but i have access to reloading set up...

280AI is a BAD A round


Edited by catslayer (01/07/16 09:52 AM)
_________________________
Sombody smells like fried borritos...

Top
#6123687 - 01/07/16 09:51 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: ChadTRG42]
catslayer Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/11/12
Posts: 1017
Loc: Straight out of Johnson County
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
The 280 AI (Ackley Improved) is simply a 280 Rem fired in a 280 AI chamber. This is how you can fire form brass to load 280 AI. Nosler also makes factory 280 AI brass, but it is a little pricey.

The 280 AI (Ackley Improved) uses the parent 280 Rem case, and changes the shoulder angle to 40 degrees, and straightens the case walls some. It gains about 1.5 to 2 grains extra powder for about 75 fps, maybe 100 fps, gain over the 280 Rem.

If you shoot 280 Rem in a 280 AI chamber, the speeds will be reduced some, since there is more room now in the chamber. But it will fire form the brass to load for 280 AI.

I have loaded many bullet options in the 280 AI using Nosler brass. Comparing the cost of fire forming standard 280 cases to just buying Nosler 280 AI brass and loading it, the Nosler 280 AI is a cheaper option. Plus you get good brass to start with.


pretty sure there are some people geting a more than 50-100 fps increase on AI vs standard 280...

I think it was on a different forum... hang on I'll go research it..
_________________________
Sombody smells like fried borritos...

Top
#6123693 - 01/07/16 09:53 AM Re: 280 or 280AI [Re: Stilhuntin]
Texasteach Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 01/05/16
Posts: 149
Loc: Ector County
The Montana in .280 AI is the cat's meow...
_________________________
You did what?

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide