Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Tyingknots, Deerslayer5, DGrabill23, Jones County Hunter, hht223
62023 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81878
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44197
BOBO the Clown 42275
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38707
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34384
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31258
facebook
Forum Stats
62023 Members
46 Forums
430478 Topics
5933899 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#6096547 - 12/22/15 11:36 AM Can a barrel...
Deerhunter61 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 6686
Loc: DFW
Guys,

I had a custom rifle built and it would shoot 1/2" or better 5 shot groups. It was incredibly accurate! But now it is performing awful! I've verified it's not the scope. I've reworked my loads even buying new brass etc and it just shoots like crap! Is it possible that the barrel could be shot out after 1500 or so rounds?

Thanks,

Top
#6096551 - 12/22/15 11:39 AM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
MacDaddy21 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/19/11
Posts: 2079
Loc: CO
What caliber?

Top
#6096554 - 12/22/15 11:39 AM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
Tff caribou Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/27/12
Posts: 3263
Loc: Watauga, TX
What caliber, and what bullet at what velocity.

I won't be able to answer your question, but they will need to know that to answer it.
_________________________
The very atmosphere of firearms anywhere and everywhere restrains evil interference. -George Washington

Top
#6096555 - 12/22/15 11:39 AM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
Brother in-law Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/08/07
Posts: 26039
What caliber?

Top
#6096557 - 12/22/15 11:40 AM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
RiverRider Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 7032
Loc: Wise Co.
Could need a good cleaning too.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Ronald Reagan
It's not that liberals are not smart, it's just that so much of what they know isn't so.

Top
#6096565 - 12/22/15 11:46 AM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Tff caribou]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10831
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Originally Posted By: Tff caribou
What caliber, and what bullet at what velocity.

I won't be able to answer your question, but they will need to know that to answer it.


+1.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6096617 - 12/22/15 12:25 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
Deerhunter61 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 6686
Loc: DFW
6.5 Creddmoor, 2900 fps, Berger 140 grain VLDs

As for the cleaning I've done that...never tried to remove copper though.

Top
#6096627 - 12/22/15 12:31 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
RiverRider Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 7032
Loc: Wise Co.
The metal fouling could be the culprit. I don't think a 6.5 Creed more should be shot out in 1500 rounds unless you abuse it.

There are some good copper solvents out there that can handle the metal fouling, but it sounds like you may have to spend some time getting it out of there.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Ronald Reagan
It's not that liberals are not smart, it's just that so much of what they know isn't so.

Top
#6096658 - 12/22/15 12:46 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
dee Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 04/10/10
Posts: 4992
Loc: Red River way
2900 with a 140?
_________________________
"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt

Top
#6096733 - 12/22/15 01:22 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: dee]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 20923
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: dee
2900 with a 140?


Exactly my thought confused2 That had to be a misprint, or brass would be trashed after one firing, and it would still take a 30" barrel to get there.

Primer pockets loose?
Same powder lot?
Same bullet to lands relationship (chasing lands due to throat erosion)

If the answers are all yes, then I would certainly clean the hell out of it. It's now telling you it needs it.

130 gr bullet on a hot load might cook the barrel in 1500 rounds, but that's a big might. My .260 Rem took a nose dive around 2500 rounds.
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
#6096746 - 12/22/15 01:27 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: dee]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 25576
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: dee
2900 with a 140?

That's standin on the gas!
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#6096750 - 12/22/15 01:30 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10831
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Originally Posted By: Deerhunter61
6.5 Creddmoor, 2900 fps, Berger 140 grain VLDs

As for the cleaning I've done that...never tried to remove copper though.


Are you chasing the lands with the VLD? The VLD's like to be seated at or near the lands. If you have 1500 rounds and are using your original seating depth, you may need to seat the bullet out further. If you are getting 2900 fps with a 140, that's a lot of pressure and speed for a 140 in a CM. I know of guys trashing a barrel at 1100 rounds running the 130 VLD's at 2950 in a 260 Rem. The CM would be very similar to barrel life as the 260 Rem, maybe a touch better for the CM.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#6096782 - 12/22/15 01:45 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
caddokiller Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/25/06
Posts: 5426
Loc: midlothian texas
Originally Posted By: Deerhunter61
6.5 Creddmoor, 2900 fps, Berger 140 grain VLDs

As for the cleaning I've done that...never tried to remove copper though.


If that is correct I would say yes it is highly likely its shot out. But surely that's a mistake right?
_________________________
The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it.- Thomas jefferson

Top
#6096792 - 12/22/15 01:52 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: redchevy]
Deerhunter61 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/08
Posts: 6686
Loc: DFW
Originally Posted By: redchevy
Originally Posted By: dee
2900 with a 140?

That's standin on the gas!


Sorry guys...2850... I'm getting 2900 with 123 Amax out of my 6.5 CM AR...ugh. As for my barrel it's 28" and it did Chrono at 2850 and the bullet drop etc seem to confirmed the fps...



Edited by Deerhunter61 (12/22/15 01:56 PM)

Top
#6096845 - 12/22/15 02:40 PM Re: Can a barrel... [Re: Deerhunter61]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 20923
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
What about the other answers we need?
_________________________

800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide