Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
missNdixie, Dicster, TMartinez, Mike HunterC, Timmins Ranch
61979 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81780
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44186
BOBO the Clown 42269
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38628
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34376
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31245
facebook
Forum Stats
61979 Members
46 Forums
429914 Topics
5927182 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6096173 - 12/22/15 08:20 AM quesiton about pics on camera
txhunter1010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/22/10
Posts: 3902
So my card on my game cam says like 300 something pics...but when I put it in the computer and I start looking at the pics, when you are moving from pic to pic, one time you will have a pic and then click next and it says no image available file can not be read....so is that a card issue, game cam issue or what...never had this happen...

Top
#6096191 - 12/22/15 08:29 AM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
flintknapper Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/18/15
Posts: 1052
Loc: Deep East Texas
Could be either, but most likely a corrupt card. Try a new card in your camera.

Old card 'might' work if all pics are erased and the card reformatted.

SD cards (if not over 16 gigs) are inexpensive, so you might try a new one first.
_________________________
Spartans ask not...how many, but where!

Top
#6096206 - 12/22/15 08:37 AM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
Mr. T. Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/05/14
Posts: 1987
Loc: Fort Worth - Hunt in Eastland ...
That same thing happens to me but only about 10 photos out of 500. I use several different cameras and it happens on all of them, however all of my cards are about 3 years old and I get at least a 1,000 photos a week off of each one. I do erase all the photos off of the cards after downloading them to my computer. So, my guess is the same as flintknapper, get a new card if you have a lot that can't be read. Oh, also, I notice that as my batteries get low I get more of the can't read photos. And most of mine happen at night.
_________________________
Ski cabin rental in Pagosa Springs.
www.pagosaspringscabin.com

Top
#6096406 - 12/22/15 10:15 AM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
Western Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/20/11
Posts: 24848
Loc: Wise County Texas
I get one or 2 like that every year, so I always reformat each SD after looking at them. i have a couple SD's that are over 5 years old and still run great.
_________________________
Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis


Top
#6096459 - 12/22/15 10:41 AM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 7564
Loc: Lubbock, TX
I'd try reformatting it first (in the camera). If that doesn't help then I'd get a new card, and as pointed out above make sure your batteries are decent.
_________________________

Top
#6096600 - 12/22/15 12:10 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
txhunter1010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 11/22/10
Posts: 3902
cool thanks

Top
#6097092 - 12/22/15 04:49 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
BayouGuy Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/27/13
Posts: 1471
Loc: S.E. Louisiana
And it's usually best to erase the pictures with the camera rather than on the computer.
_________________________
If you can't laugh at yourself, give me a call. I'll gladly laugh at you.

Top
#6097205 - 12/22/15 06:02 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
Zach S Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/29/14
Posts: 187
Loc: Mason, Gatesville, Round Rock
Each time you put a card in a camera, you should format it. It helps bind that card to the camera and removes "ghost" images that aren't truly deleted from the SD card when you hook it up the the computer and do so.

Top
#6097715 - 12/22/15 10:43 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: Zach S]
Duck_Hunter Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 10/30/14
Posts: 4287
Originally Posted By: QuitShootinYoungBucks
I'd try reformatting it first (in the camera). If that doesn't help then I'd get a new card, and as pointed out above make sure your batteries are decent.


Originally Posted By: Zachary Symm
Each time you put a card in a camera, you should format it. It helps bind that card to the camera and removes "ghost" images that aren't truly deleted from the SD card when you hook it up the the computer and do so.


Both of these are where I'd start. Zachary explained more of the why. If that doesn't work, I'd buy a new card.
_________________________


Top
#6099208 - 12/23/15 08:55 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
Accutrigger33 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/30/09
Posts: 261
Loc: DFW-Vernon
Also use sandisk sd cards...others are junk

Top
#6099391 - 12/23/15 10:58 PM Re: quesiton about pics on camera [Re: txhunter1010]
Halfadozen Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 10/29/09
Posts: 8309
Loc: Parker County
Agree with Accutrigger. Also, a lot of game cams for some reason don't do well when the chip is over 2gb. We have tested numerous brands on our ranch with 2, 4 and 8 gig cards. By far the 2 gig cards nearly always work. As someone else posted, format the card while in the camera, as it will create a folder specific to write to that camera. Also, the HDSD cards usually won't work well. Just a standard SD card. Hope this helps.
_________________________
Freedom is a fragile thing ...Those who have known freedom, and then lost it, have never known it again.
-- Ronald Reagan



Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide