Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
heck game ranch, Dourado, Do-Nothin, Connorj47, Txlonghorn
62806 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83631
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44291
BOBO the Clown 42881
bill oxner 41631
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34889
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31421
facebook
Forum Stats
62806 Members
46 Forums
440092 Topics
6060483 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6086888 - 12/16/15 07:50 AM Savage rifle short chambers?
Dien Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 542
Loc: Grand Prairie
My friend picked up a new Savage 308. We noticed at the range it wouldn't chamber a Hornady SSt round, forgot the weight.

Started loading for it last night and when I measured the chamber it was really short. Took out some nicer factory rounds, Hornady SST and Super Performance and FGMM 175. There was resistance chambering them. And these factory rounds were longer base to ogive then with a round I dummy loaded using his chamber's base to ogive dimensions.

We actually got a FGMM stuck in his chamber and had to rough it out harshly using his bolt handle. Bullet stayed in the barrel while the brass came out and powder on the floor!

Is this common for Savage? I always thought factory chambers were on the long side as a lot of people can't touch the lands using factory magazines.

Top
#6086989 - 12/16/15 08:26 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Big A Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 3084
Loc: DFW
I had this problem on the 6.5 I got from them did take a little bit but they did make it right.
_________________________

Originally Posted By: NTX_Hunter
"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun"

Top
#6087182 - 12/16/15 09:25 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
GLC Online   content


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4696
Loc: Burleson Texas
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.
_________________________


Top
#6087273 - 12/16/15 09:58 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: GLC]
Dien Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 542
Loc: Grand Prairie
Originally Posted By: GLC
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.


Guess you didn't read my post, thanks though!

Top
#6088215 - 12/16/15 06:41 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Txhillbilly Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/14/15
Posts: 571
Loc: Johnson County
Savage isn't the only Mfg that has had some issues with short chambers lately.
Tell your friend to call Savage,they will send him a return tag and fix it for free.

Top
#6088423 - 12/16/15 08:19 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
GLC Online   content


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4696
Loc: Burleson Texas
Originally Posted By: Dien
Originally Posted By: GLC
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.


Guess you didn't read my post, thanks though!

My mistake, did not know when measuring the ogive if you were measuring the OAL or COAL.
_________________________


Top
#6088687 - 12/16/15 10:15 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 22407
Loc: Texas
If factory loads are hitting the lands there is a problem. SAAMI Specifications are there for a reason and if factory chamber is sticking factory ammo something is out of spec.

Like has already been said contact Savage about it.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbth..._PO#Post6605808

Top
#6093111 - 12/20/15 08:38 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Dien Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 542
Loc: Grand Prairie
Well we shot some hand loads out of it and it shoots about .375MOA with the bullet jammed into the lands .020

No way we can get book max out of it without compressing the crap out of the powder.

My friend needs to decide whether to fix it or live without factory hunting ammo.

Top
#6093154 - 12/20/15 09:16 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
603Country Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 07/03/12
Posts: 5663
Loc: Central Texas
I haven't shot a factory round in 30 years. But, I'd still get that rifle fixed. Probably cheaper to get Savage to do it, but for the sake of speed, I'd find a good gunsmith and have it done.

Top
#6094199 - 12/20/15 11:06 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
HicksHunter Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 1604
Loc: Kerrville
My 12 LRP in 6.5 had problems chambering 140gr factory ammo- blew primers on Winchester SMK loads. Sent it back to them 4 weeks ago, haven't heard back yet. Guy on the phone seemed to think it'd be taken care of free of charge.

I'd give them a shout if you want it done for free, or find a gunsmith if you want it done quickly.

Top
#6103363 - 12/26/15 09:24 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
2002Z06 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 10/13/08
Posts: 407
Loc: Mansfield
I had the same issue on my 6.5 Creedmoor, it was faster for me to take it to a local smith and he fixed me up no problem in one weeks time.
_________________________
[Signature images may not be larger than 600 pixels wide by 125 pixels tall]

Top
#6103862 - 12/27/15 09:26 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
HicksHunter Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 1604
Loc: Kerrville
I'm still waiting on Savage. I'll call on Monday and see what's happening.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide