Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
lrngmez01, ARQuail, timahlen, Brekby, jfive
61119 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 79388
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43941
BOBO the Clown 41405
BMD 40578
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 34576
txshntr 34079
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30946
facebook
Forum Stats
61119 Members
46 Forums
416334 Topics
5753891 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#6086888 - 12/16/15 07:50 AM Savage rifle short chambers?
Dien Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 432
Loc: Grand Prairie
My friend picked up a new Savage 308. We noticed at the range it wouldn't chamber a Hornady SSt round, forgot the weight.

Started loading for it last night and when I measured the chamber it was really short. Took out some nicer factory rounds, Hornady SST and Super Performance and FGMM 175. There was resistance chambering them. And these factory rounds were longer base to ogive then with a round I dummy loaded using his chamber's base to ogive dimensions.

We actually got a FGMM stuck in his chamber and had to rough it out harshly using his bolt handle. Bullet stayed in the barrel while the brass came out and powder on the floor!

Is this common for Savage? I always thought factory chambers were on the long side as a lot of people can't touch the lands using factory magazines.

Top
#6086989 - 12/16/15 08:26 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Big A Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 11/19/10
Posts: 3006
Loc: DFW
I had this problem on the 6.5 I got from them did take a little bit but they did make it right.
_________________________

Originally Posted By: NTX_Hunter
"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun"

Top
#6087182 - 12/16/15 09:25 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
GLC Online   content


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4263
Loc: Burleson Texas
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.
_________________________


Top
#6087273 - 12/16/15 09:58 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: GLC]
Dien Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 432
Loc: Grand Prairie
Originally Posted By: GLC
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.


Guess you didn't read my post, thanks though!

Top
#6088215 - 12/16/15 06:41 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Txhillbilly Online   content
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/14/15
Posts: 482
Loc: Johnson County
Savage isn't the only Mfg that has had some issues with short chambers lately.
Tell your friend to call Savage,they will send him a return tag and fix it for free.

Top
#6088423 - 12/16/15 08:19 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
GLC Online   content


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4263
Loc: Burleson Texas
Originally Posted By: Dien
Originally Posted By: GLC
Need to measure the COAL of the chamber and then check your rounds.


Guess you didn't read my post, thanks though!

My mistake, did not know when measuring the ogive if you were measuring the OAL or COAL.
_________________________


Top
#6088687 - 12/16/15 10:15 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
kmon1 Online   content
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20720
Loc: Texas
If factory loads are hitting the lands there is a problem. SAAMI Specifications are there for a reason and if factory chamber is sticking factory ammo something is out of spec.

Like has already been said contact Savage about it.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#6093111 - 12/20/15 08:38 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
Dien Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/16/12
Posts: 432
Loc: Grand Prairie
Well we shot some hand loads out of it and it shoots about .375MOA with the bullet jammed into the lands .020

No way we can get book max out of it without compressing the crap out of the powder.

My friend needs to decide whether to fix it or live without factory hunting ammo.

Top
#6093154 - 12/20/15 09:16 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
603Country Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 07/03/12
Posts: 5087
Loc: Central Texas
I haven't shot a factory round in 30 years. But, I'd still get that rifle fixed. Probably cheaper to get Savage to do it, but for the sake of speed, I'd find a good gunsmith and have it done.

Top
#6094199 - 12/20/15 11:06 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
HicksHunter Online   content


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 1561
Loc: Kerrville
My 12 LRP in 6.5 had problems chambering 140gr factory ammo- blew primers on Winchester SMK loads. Sent it back to them 4 weeks ago, haven't heard back yet. Guy on the phone seemed to think it'd be taken care of free of charge.

I'd give them a shout if you want it done for free, or find a gunsmith if you want it done quickly.

Top
#6103363 - 12/26/15 09:24 PM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
2002Z06 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 10/13/08
Posts: 407
Loc: Mansfield
I had the same issue on my 6.5 Creedmoor, it was faster for me to take it to a local smith and he fixed me up no problem in one weeks time.
_________________________
[Signature images may not be larger than 600 pixels wide by 125 pixels tall]

Top
#6103862 - 12/27/15 09:26 AM Re: Savage rifle short chambers? [Re: Dien]
HicksHunter Online   content


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 1561
Loc: Kerrville
I'm still waiting on Savage. I'll call on Monday and see what's happening.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide