Page 1 of 2 1 2
New to ARs and need some guidance #6077705 12/11/15 02:25 AM
H
HillbillyDeluxe Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
H
Been hunting and shooting for decades, but finally have the itch to get into the AR game and I know nothing about them and admit the more I read (including the sticky at the top), the more confused I get. I was hoping to get a little guidance from the THF experts.

I'm a total newbie and really just looking for something of an entry level gun primarily for just nothing more than shooting, but may end up using it for hogs or varmints at some point. and something that is ready to go out of the box, not looking for a project or to buy parts to assemble at all.

First of all, brands.....I see some of the old regulars, Colt, Ruger, S&W, and then some I've never heard of like Bushmaster, American Tactical (OMNI?), Windham and DPMS. I've heard conflicting info about different brands, some that you can't go wrong with XYZ brand and it's components are better than the others, and then others who say that most all AR components are the same and you're just paying for the name. Any thoughts on brands that are stellar or ones to steer away from?

Also caliber.....a buddy bought one last year in 7.62 because he wanted to use it for hog hunting. 5.56/.223 seems to be the most popular caliber, but would it do the job for what he was wanting it for? I've even seen one in 300 AAC blackout, something I've never heard of. Any caliber to stick with or steer away from? Some much more affordable and easier to find than others?

Another thing is the components, or lack of, that come with them. One guy told me to go with the steel sights, another said stick with the flat top if I ever wanted to add a scope.