Print Thread
reloadding #6066880 12/04/15 08:18 PM
C
chemdawg Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
C
Hi, I was wondering it there was any kind of book that would help me understand reloading my own rounds I use to help my dad do his but that was 14yrs ago and he has not passes i have a scale for weighting out the powder. but i am not really sure about the rest of it. i know he use to warn me of overloading shells all the time. every thing was done by hand from resizing the brass punching the primers out replacing them adding the powder then we would hand tap the led on the brass i really would like to learn to reload the price of shells are get getting to much just 2 boxes of 30 -30 and 30-06 were 77$ i am just a disabled vet and cant afford one of those larger facey loading stations i have seen that hold sever rounds at once any help would me out apricated

Re: reloadding [Re: chemdawg] #6066913 12/04/15 08:40 PM
H
HicksHunter Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
H
I'm going to caution you to not expect reloading to be the fix here. Reloading is fairly easily to jump into, but I'd only consider it if you can see yourself loading a large number of rounds to make up for the cost.

A barebones reloading setup can be had for around the prices listed below:
Press-$125
Dies-$35 per caliber
Shellholders-$15
Hand priming tool-$25
Deburring and Chamfering tool-$15
Calipers-$20

I'm probably forgetting something, and leaving out the small things, but is pretty much the smallest amount of stuff you can get by with. And this isn't taking into account a case trimmer, which will be necessary for reloading 30-30 and 30-06 cases more than a couple times. A good case trimmer will add another $75-$100 onto this cost, but you can make do with inexpensive options like the Lee Quick Trim.