Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Shotguns [Re: Blue drake] #6026434 11/13/15 01:01 AM
M
mohunter Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
M
I will add to this post as well. I bought a Franchi Affinity last year and have ran about 7 flats through it so far, that's 1750 shells, its been a great gun, very light also.
Very good buy for an interia operated gun.
The Stoeger is a heavy 2x4 over a pound heavier, does the job though I guess.
Not sure how many people on this forum even know how to take an automatic apart to clean it all but if you do you will find out the Affinity has a lot less parts the a gas gun. Very easy to break down and clean.

Last edited by mohunter; 11/13/15 01:12 AM.
Re: Shotguns [Re: Blue drake] #6026435 11/13/15 01:01 AM
L
Letmland Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
L
I have been hunting for 44 years. I know how to take care of a shotgun. I bought two 3.5 SX3 Winchesters in Feb. of this year from different stores. Both shoulder well, have a great trigger and have minimal recoil. They will cycle anything but they are finicky on ammo that falls on the low side of the diameter tolerance. After you chamber a shell and out one in the mag tube, any relatively smaller diameter shotgun shell no matter what length ---2-3/4 through 3-1/2" is a pain to get the third shell in. They work fine with Winchester Dry Lok and Remington Nitro Steel.

I also learned that there is no warranty with an SX3 or at least the manual says nothing about one. I don't have time to deal with this. I plan to hunt this season and send both of them back after it is over. I will let them know now. I made three skeet trips, one teal trip and one big duck trip before this started. Knowing what I know now, I would have done two things differently: 1.) I would have gotten a 3" gun. I don't need the 3.5". 2.) I would have gotten a Bennelli.

If your are like me, you won't be satisfied with settling for almost as good as. I should have waited a while longer and saved more. Lesson learned.