Print Thread
Tips on using scents #6014482 11/06/15 04:30 PM
B
bigjoe8565 Online Content OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
B
I've never used scents before, so looking for input. Specifically, what scents should I use during the rut/pre rut and what methods should I use (drag/wicks)?

Re: Tips on using scents [Re: bigjoe8565] #6014520 11/06/15 05:00 PM
W
Western Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
W
I throw in my thoughts, but you will probably get a different answer from each person.

I have used "scents" many times (wasted a lot of $$ IMO) for a long time I used the tinks 69, since I was convinced it was the best (marketing). My observations I have seen, combined with how I used scents to catch coyotes. I have seen the tinks and other doe pee' s actually alarm other doe, I think it is because they pretty much know every doe in the are and their scent, the doe pee i brought in is "doe p" but foreign.

I personally haven't ever had a big mature buck come in to what I was certain was a result of the doe P, but we all know more goes on than what we see, so that doesn't really say much.

Best luck I ever had was with some cheap knock off I got on discount at walmart one time, stuff actually smelled like a cheap cologne, no lie. I almost didn't use it for that reason, in fact I didn't until I ran out of the tinks. I put the "cologne" out one am and had 6 (young) bucks nearly run my stand over. I had so little faith in it, I had just dumped it about 3' high in cedars around my stand, go figure.

FWIW, I always use the hanging scent bottles, or way back, I used 35mm film canisters full of cotton. I don't believe you want an attractant out when you are not there to take advantage of it. I also believe you can use it too often and at the wrong time, which IMO, is a "heads up to a smart buck.

Most interest I have seen, has been just before the rut and during those 1st few days, similar to rattling for me.