Print Thread
what really works? #5912570 09/04/15 03:42 AM
S
StephensCnty308 Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
S
As some of you know I just purchased my own property to hunt just 2 months ago. I am a bow hunter that is used to sitting in a tree and waiting for the right deer to come along. My property that I purchased has a elevated blind with pond about 61yards away and a feeder 129yards away. I have never used a blind nor a feeder however after bow season I plan to get the rifle out and use what came with my purchase. My question is during Rut how often are deer really near a feeder?
Is the feeder used to basically keep the deer in the area for that 1 great opportunity?
I hear of folks using deer attractants and other stuff in the area of or between the blind/feeder, I guess you can call that baiting does this stuff really work? Deer blocks? Deer attractants from a bag? Etc

Yes I'm a rookie to this part of hunting I guess you can say! I was taught over the years to scout out an area and just sit and wait. Just trying to enjoy the sport in other ways.

Re: what really works? [Re: StephensCnty308] #5912584 09/04/15 03:50 AM
K
KnoxCityNate Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
K
I had deer at my feeder all through season up until Early January. And as long as the doe's kept coming to feed the bucks came with them during the rut.

Re: what really works? [Re: StephensCnty308] #5912599 09/04/15 04:00 AM
R
rickym Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
R
Yes feeders are used to keep deer feeding and comin to a particular area. Some become resident deer and some wander a handful of properties. During the rut and most of the year does are coming to the feeder, the bucks almost always follow during the rut, not true everywhere.
Scouting an area is just as important. Check out the rest of your property for game trails and set your bow stand in a good spot, not near your feeder.

The bagged stuff may work once they get used to it but may scare them away at first.