Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
timlewi14, JamesThompson, Hunterwannabe, Zeb B, hillcountryredraider
60449 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77414
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43786
BOBO the Clown 41102
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32639
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60449 Members
45 Forums
475962 Topics
6243650 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5880773 - 08/16/15 09:14 AM How do you keep cows off a camera?
Apretz Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/04/13
Posts: 201
Loc: Howard county
Nothing like checking a camera after a few weeks only to see that a cow bumped the camera. It seems like no matter where I put a camera those cows can find it and rub on it. How do you put a camera out on a spot with out a good tree? I've tried t-posts but that's just asking for cows. There isn't a lot of cows but they find them in no time.

Top
#5880779 - 08/16/15 09:17 AM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 6953
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
On a t-post inside the feeder pen..
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I love happy endings.

Top
#5880781 - 08/16/15 09:18 AM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
Western Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/20/11
Posts: 23584
Loc: Wise County Texas
Raise it and shim the top would work, or build yourself a t post cage, pound 4 in a square and weld a top brace would probably work too. I never had a problem with cows, but I can see where it would happen if they spend a lot of time around your feeder.
_________________________
Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis


Top
#5880783 - 08/16/15 09:20 AM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Western]
ChrisB Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/20/06
Posts: 878
Loc: Prosper , TX
Throw the bungee cords and straps away and use 3 inch deck screws to attach it. Mine never move when a cow needs to scratch an itch.

Top
#5881952 - 08/16/15 10:49 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
Apretz Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/04/13
Posts: 201
Loc: Howard county
I'll have to give some of these a try and see what works. Problem is cameras on my place get moved around every so often because we have more stands than cameras.

Top
#5881959 - 08/16/15 11:02 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
WNPHNTR Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 03/24/13
Posts: 269
I strap mine down with zip ties. They don't budge.

Top
#5882291 - 08/17/15 09:49 AM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
I use an eight foot by 5" round treated fence post, but I build solar powered cameras. These posts are quite sturdy when sunk two feet in the ground. I put my camera in a steel camera box, so it would be easy to pull and relocate. BUT, I'm repairing one cow et pole currently. It was et by cows because a buddy was messing with the solar panel and left some wires hanging. That will be remedied, plus this year that site gets a feed pen around camera pole and feeder.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5882344 - 08/17/15 10:25 AM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
GLC Offline


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4117
Loc: Burleson Texas
I fill up a five gallon bucket with concrete with a 4 foot plastic sewer pipe in it. I hang my camera to the pipe. Rarely does it ever get knocked over.
_________________________


Top
#5884763 - 08/18/15 04:59 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi

Registered: 08/04/10
Posts: 52092
I put mine on a post or tree then take 2"x 4" welded wire and put it around the camera and post/tree. I cut a window in the wire stagings were the camera lens,etc need clearance to work. I build the hoop big enough to keep the cattle off the TC.
_________________________


Top
#5884765 - 08/18/15 05:01 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
Navasot Offline
Natty Love

Registered: 09/22/11
Posts: 25935
Loc: Normangee/Navasota TX
Let me know if you need a few I keep them handy
_________________________


http://www.j5tractors.com/

Top
#5884776 - 08/18/15 05:07 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
Wilhunt Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/26/13
Posts: 2335
Loc: New Braunfels, San Saba county
Built a wood box put screws thru it into a tree. Camera goes inside the box. Good so far but I may have to try stx idea.

Top
#5884857 - 08/18/15 06:06 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: stxranchman]
Apretz Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/04/13
Posts: 201
Loc: Howard county
Originally Posted By: stxranchman
I put mine on a post or tree then take 2"x 4" welded wire and put it around the camera and post/tree. I cut a window in the wire stagings were the camera lens,etc need clearance to work. I build the hoop big enough to keep the cattle off the TC.


How much clearance? Just enough for the camera to be accessible?

Top
#5884860 - 08/18/15 06:08 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
skinnerback Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 05/30/11
Posts: 10691
Loc: Rockport, Tx.
What has worked best for me is to mount the camera to a T post, then drive 4 more T posts to fence it in. Three strands of barbed wire pulled tight but loose enough for you to get in. May be too much work though if you're gonna move them all the time.
_________________________

Top
#5884891 - 08/18/15 06:26 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: Apretz]
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi

Registered: 08/04/10
Posts: 52092
Originally Posted By: Apretz
Originally Posted By: stxranchman
I put mine on a post or tree then take 2"x 4" welded wire and put it around the camera and post/tree. I cut a window in the wire stagings were the camera lens,etc need clearance to work. I build the hoop big enough to keep the cattle off the TC.


How much clearance? Just enough for the camera to be accessible?

I cut the wire staging around the motion sensor and the lens just enough to allow them clear sight paths. I cut the stagings and then bend them outward to acts as a guard. I usually use about 8-10" of clearance. Might have to adjust it with aggressive cattle. Once they can not get to the camera they will not bother after a while. I used this in West Texas around water troughs where cattle would stay for hours each day.
_________________________


Top
#5885054 - 08/18/15 07:52 PM Re: How do you keep cows off a camera? [Re: stxranchman]
Apretz Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/04/13
Posts: 201
Loc: Howard county
Originally Posted By: stxranchman
Originally Posted By: Apretz
Originally Posted By: stxranchman
I put mine on a post or tree then take 2"x 4" welded wire and put it around the camera and post/tree. I cut a window in the wire stagings were the camera lens,etc need clearance to work. I build the hoop big enough to keep the cattle off the TC.


How much clearance? Just enough for the camera to be accessible?

I cut the wire staging around the motion sensor and the lens just enough to allow them clear sight paths. I cut the stagings and then bend them outward to acts as a guard. I usually use about 8-10" of clearance. Might have to adjust it with aggressive cattle. Once they can not get to the camera they will not bother after a while. I used this in West Texas around water troughs where cattle would stay for hours each day.


This is a good idea. And cheap which is a plus. We have Longhorns and I think they are just extra curious and anything out of place has to be investigated.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide