Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Kade, OOBuck, SmartShot4202, Live, TomCyndiA
61698 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81019
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44074
BOBO the Clown 41976
BMD 40612
bill oxner 37569
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34254
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31169
facebook
Forum Stats
61698 Members
46 Forums
425751 Topics
5875132 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5869320 - 08/08/15 02:05 PM Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No
deewayne2003 Online   content


Registered: 03/19/09
Posts: 4223
A buddy of mine was asking about shooting reloads in his gen 3 Glock 19 9mm; and I'm pretty sure they have unsupported chambers and your not supposed to fire reloads in them.

Is that correct?

Also the rifling in the barrels is not good with lead cast bullets right?

Top
#5869343 - 08/08/15 02:29 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Gravytrain Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 20532
Loc: Rowlett, Tx
I won't say yes or no for you. But I will say
that I do shoot reloads from glock brass then
fired again in a glock.

Top
#5869466 - 08/08/15 04:34 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
boonee Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/09/11
Posts: 2154
Loc: Mesquite/Canton
I do and have for years, quality loads, not some loose ammo in a bag from the gun show!
I only shoot lead thru Lone Wolf (Glock) cut rifling barrels.
May not be right but It's what I have done since 1985...
_________________________
Avenger Firearms 214-577-5818
avengerfirearms@gmail.com

Lifetime NRA member

Top
#5869641 - 08/08/15 06:51 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
GasGuzzler Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/15/13
Posts: 1804
Loc: Cooke County, Texas
Don't know myself but if it won't it's another reason not to buy a Glock.
_________________________
Pass the gravy.



Top
#5869679 - 08/08/15 07:20 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
rrflyer Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 490
Loc: Denton---ish
I shoot reloads through my glocks pretty much exclusively.

Soft cast lead may or my not be a problem. Use coated or jacketed bullets and rock out with your glock out.

Top
#5869797 - 08/08/15 08:41 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1402
Loc: Waco
I have only shot reloads in my Glocks and also load for my son's as well.. I use a Glock 34 for 3 gun and shoot coated lead bulllets and have a 43 for CCW.

Top
#5869912 - 08/08/15 09:47 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
BooneDog Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 196
Loc: Argyle,TX
I have about a 1000 reloads through a model 36 and a 34 with no problems. Using bullseye, tight group and unique. I did have bad bad luck with lead cast bullets. They hang on the feed ramps. I have had 100% success with plated bullets using Extreme and Rainer.

Top
#5870053 - 08/09/15 12:06 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 3130
Loc: San Angelo
Your buddy has been reading too much internet bs. Reloads and hard cast bullets are just fine in Glocks. I shot about 12,000 180 grain LFP bullets out of my g35 in 16 months, did no barrel cleaning, and didn't have any more leading than any of my cut rifled guns.

If your lead bullets are hanging on the feed ramp, the lead itself is not the problem. Probably bullet profile or seating depth is to blame.


Edited by Tactical Cowboy (08/09/15 12:06 AM)
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Powder coated cast bullets available. https://www.facebook.com/lazyhbullets/

Top
#5870558 - 08/09/15 01:34 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
30378 Offline


Registered: 02/14/09
Posts: 2849
Loc: Deer Park, Tx.
Reloads are fine long as they are NOT lead exposed projectiles. Jacketed bullets only in a Glock.
_________________________
NRA Patron Life Member - Free men should not be subjected to permits, paperwork and taxation in order to carry a firearm.

Top
#5872035 - 08/10/15 01:55 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10509
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Reloads are fine in a Glock. The issue with Glocks are the slight unsupported chamber and HOT reloads. This area of unsupported chamber and HOT ammo can cause a case to rupture in this unsupported area. Keep your ammo within normal limits, and you will be fine.

Also, Glock uses polygon rifling in their barrels. This does not allow good stability when shooting some heavy cast or copper plated bullets. I ran the 135 grain copper plated bullets in my G35 just fine, but the 180's will not stabilize, and the bullet will tumble.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5872932 - 08/10/15 11:06 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
tth_40 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13903
Loc: North Texas.
When in doubt, switch the barrel out.


Lone Wolf, Storm Lake, etc.


Someone else's reloads in my pistol (Chad excepted) NO.

My reloads YES.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#5872973 - 08/11/15 12:13 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Tactical Cowboy Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 3130
Loc: San Angelo
Try cast bullets. All of the bullets I shot through my barrel were fine. I sold several thousand bullets to others who shot them through their Glocks without trouble. Before anyone states, "Glock says not to shoot cast bullets in their guns," let me ask, doesn't Glock (and every other manufacturer) say not to shoot reloads?
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Powder coated cast bullets available. https://www.facebook.com/lazyhbullets/

Top
#5875468 - 08/12/15 02:35 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: Tactical Cowboy]
RLoving1 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 05/21/10
Posts: 2365
Loc: Odessa Texas
Shot some moly coated in my G36....won't happen again! Reloads not issue and did change to Lone Wolf also.
_________________________
Brayden (Lazy L's Southern Comfort) you will be missed! You were more than a pet you were my reason to rise and return for many days! You were my rock!
12/26/03-10/25/13

Top
#5885845 - 08/19/15 11:10 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
crawdaddy Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/17/10
Posts: 1285
Loc: DFW
I cast my own projectiles. Bought an aftermarket barrel because I found a great deal on it and never looked back. I know lots of bullet casters shoot their glocks as is with no issues.


Edited by crawdaddy (08/19/15 11:11 AM)
_________________________
NRA Life Member
If you're not a member, you should be.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide