Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Zeb B, hillcountryredraider, duckbrx, yodasheet, Harddr672
60446 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77389
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41089
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33684
bill oxner 32633
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60446 Members
45 Forums
475859 Topics
6242562 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5869320 - 08/08/15 02:05 PM Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No
deewayne2003 Offline


Registered: 03/19/09
Posts: 4167
A buddy of mine was asking about shooting reloads in his gen 3 Glock 19 9mm; and I'm pretty sure they have unsupported chambers and your not supposed to fire reloads in them.

Is that correct?

Also the rifling in the barrels is not good with lead cast bullets right?

Top
#5869343 - 08/08/15 02:29 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Gravytrain Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 16915
Loc: Rowlett, Tx
I won't say yes or no for you. But I will say
that I do shoot reloads from glock brass then
fired again in a glock.

Top
#5869466 - 08/08/15 04:34 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
boonee Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/09/11
Posts: 2084
Loc: Mesquite
I do and have for years, quality loads, not some loose ammo in a bag from the gun show!
I only shoot lead thru Lone Wolf (Glock) cut rifling barrels.
May not be right but It's what I have done since 1985...
_________________________
Avenger Firearms 214-577-5818
avengerfirearms@gmail.com

Lifetime NRA member

Top
#5869641 - 08/08/15 06:51 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
GasGuzzler Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 12/15/13
Posts: 1639
Loc: Cooke County, Texas
Don't know myself but if it won't it's another reason not to buy a Glock.
_________________________
Pass the gravy.



Top
#5869679 - 08/08/15 07:20 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
rrflyer Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 485
Loc: Denton---ish
I shoot reloads through my glocks pretty much exclusively.

Soft cast lead may or my not be a problem. Use coated or jacketed bullets and rock out with your glock out.

Top
#5869797 - 08/08/15 08:41 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
DStroud Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/02/11
Posts: 1156
Loc: Waco
I have only shot reloads in my Glocks and also load for my son's as well.. I use a Glock 34 for 3 gun and shoot coated lead bulllets and have a 43 for CCW.

Top
#5869912 - 08/08/15 09:47 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
BooneDog Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 10/11/12
Posts: 158
Loc: Argyle,TX
I have about a 1000 reloads through a model 36 and a 34 with no problems. Using bullseye, tight group and unique. I did have bad bad luck with lead cast bullets. They hang on the feed ramps. I have had 100% success with plated bullets using Extreme and Rainer.

Top
#5870053 - 08/09/15 12:06 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Tactical Cowboy Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 2844
Loc: Abilene
Your buddy has been reading too much internet bs. Reloads and hard cast bullets are just fine in Glocks. I shot about 12,000 180 grain LFP bullets out of my g35 in 16 months, did no barrel cleaning, and didn't have any more leading than any of my cut rifled guns.

If your lead bullets are hanging on the feed ramp, the lead itself is not the problem. Probably bullet profile or seating depth is to blame.


Edited by Tactical Cowboy (08/09/15 12:06 AM)
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Top
#5870558 - 08/09/15 01:34 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
30378 Online   content


Registered: 02/14/09
Posts: 2824
Loc: Deer Park, Tx.
Reloads are fine long as they are NOT lead exposed projectiles. Jacketed bullets only in a Glock.
_________________________
NRA Endowment Member - Free men should not be subjected to permits, paperwork and taxation in order to carry a firearm.

Top
#5872035 - 08/10/15 01:55 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9420
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Reloads are fine in a Glock. The issue with Glocks are the slight unsupported chamber and HOT reloads. This area of unsupported chamber and HOT ammo can cause a case to rupture in this unsupported area. Keep your ammo within normal limits, and you will be fine.

Also, Glock uses polygon rifling in their barrels. This does not allow good stability when shooting some heavy cast or copper plated bullets. I ran the 135 grain copper plated bullets in my G35 just fine, but the 180's will not stabilize, and the bullet will tumble.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5872932 - 08/10/15 11:06 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
tth_40 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13736
Loc: North Texas.
When in doubt, switch the barrel out.


Lone Wolf, Storm Lake, etc.


Someone else's reloads in my pistol (Chad excepted) NO.

My reloads YES.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#5872973 - 08/11/15 12:13 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
Tactical Cowboy Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 08/23/11
Posts: 2844
Loc: Abilene
Try cast bullets. All of the bullets I shot through my barrel were fine. I sold several thousand bullets to others who shot them through their Glocks without trouble. Before anyone states, "Glock says not to shoot cast bullets in their guns," let me ask, doesn't Glock (and every other manufacturer) say not to shoot reloads?
_________________________
The secret to a long life is to try not to shorten it

Top
#5875468 - 08/12/15 02:35 PM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: Tactical Cowboy]
RLoving1 Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 05/21/10
Posts: 2274
Loc: Odessa Texas
Shot some moly coated in my G36....won't happen again! Reloads not issue and did change to Lone Wolf also.
_________________________
Brayden (Lazy L's Southern Comfort) you will be missed! You were more than a pet you were my reason to rise and return for many days! You were my rock!
12/26/03-10/25/13

Top
#5885845 - 08/19/15 11:10 AM Re: Shooting reloads in Glocks? - Yes or No [Re: deewayne2003]
crawdaddy Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 03/17/10
Posts: 1258
Loc: DFW
I cast my own projectiles. Bought an aftermarket barrel because I found a great deal on it and never looked back. I know lots of bullet casters shoot their glocks as is with no issues.


Edited by crawdaddy (08/19/15 11:11 AM)
_________________________
NRA Life Member
If you're not a member, you should be.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide