Forums46
Topics538,046
Posts9,732,319
Members87,055
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Remington 700 upgrade suggestions? [Re: Big Fitz] #5865585 08/06/15 05:59 AM
B
BoltVanderhuge Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
B
Originally Posted By: Big Fitz
Bolt, where are you located? Might be good to have an experienced guy look at it. A few other questions:

What brand and model of scope?

What brand and model of mounts and rings?

Can you post pics of groups? Vertical or horizontal strings?

Stock screws torqued properly?

Shooting from a solid bench with bags or other?

I'm no expert but a Remmy 700 should shoot much better than that.

I live in Ft Worth. I have a Redfield revolution 4-12 x 40 mounted with Leupold std mounts/rings. I went and checked the stock screws, and torqued them down to 45 in/lbs. I've been shooting off a solid bench with sand bags.

Re: Remington 700 upgrade suggestions? [Re: BoltVanderhuge] #5865586 08/06/15 06:01 AM
B
Bullfrog Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
B
good for you for not having too much pride to admit that. Maybe just adding weight to the butt of your existing stock would help. I've never done that but I've seen others do it with good results. Have someone who knows a thing or two watch you shoot. They'll let you know real quick if that's a problem of you flinching. If it's not, good. Look elsewhere. I say this because I was flinching when I first got into shooting and I had my light ADL in 270. I was anticipating my shots and screwing everything up.

Now if I calm down and shoot really slow, I can shoot hole in a hole. IF I calm down and try it

Last edited by Bullfrog; 08/06/15 06:04 AM.

[Linked Image]
Originally Posted by machinist
Man if I knew what Oxner knows I could throw away what I know
Re: Remington 700 upgrade suggestions? [Re: BoltVanderhuge] #5865877 08/06/15 02:29 PM
R
REALKILLER Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
R