Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
LuisGabriel, marnold, Cl3anslat3, VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet
60482 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77564
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41125
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32683
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30572
facebook
Forum Stats
60482 Members
45 Forums
476317 Topics
6248246 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5807092 - 06/26/15 03:05 PM Eotech for duty AR
kstringer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 212
Loc: Houston, Tx
I'm am fixing to get my AR to carry on duty. I am determined to get an eotech for my sight but I'm not sure which model is ideal. Is there any major difference in some of these models for what I want it for??

Thoughts??

Thanks!
_________________________

Top
#5807093 - 06/26/15 03:06 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
Gravytrain Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 16954
Loc: Rowlett, Tx
Are you going to have access to night vision equipment?

Top
#5807098 - 06/26/15 03:09 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
kstringer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 212
Loc: Houston, Tx
Possibly. If there isn't a huge price difference I would consider getting a NV capable one
_________________________

Top
#5807155 - 06/26/15 04:03 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
ChipChipperson45 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/12/12
Posts: 702
Loc: Austin
get an aimpoint. Wife is a cop and she kept forgetting to turn the batteries off after range trips. Several times while checking her gear she would discover that batteries were dead. With her aimpoint's insane battery life, she doesn't have to worry about it anymore. Although, she says she still misses the bigger reticle on the Eotech.

Top
#5807175 - 06/26/15 04:22 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
patriot07 Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 963
Loc: Royse City, TX
EOTech is great for close-range stuff. Not great for longer shots.

I never had any issues with the one I had on my Rock River. I just got the basic 512 so I could use AAs. I think I only replaced them once the whole time I owned it, but I was very good about remembering to turn it off after I was done using it. Even if you don't, it turns itself off after 8 or 12 hours IIRC.

Top
#5807300 - 06/26/15 06:01 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
kstringer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 212
Loc: Houston, Tx
I've thought about an aim point but I am a fan of eotech. The battery thing isn't an issue. I use the cr123 in my weapon light so I always have a bunch on me...

I'm leaning towards the smaller one. The xps3
_________________________

Top
#5807369 - 06/26/15 06:47 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
fr3db3ar Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/08/15
Posts: 283
Loc: Holland, MI
Mine isn't NV compatible but there is nothing wrong with the 512. I wear a flip to the side 3x magnifier on mine and shot a coyote pup in the head @ 170 yards. They can be just fine for longer shots. While the reticle seems pixelated on it's own, once you add the magnifier it becomes crystal clear. YMMV

Top
#5807679 - 06/26/15 10:15 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
Brother in-law Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/08/07
Posts: 24489
The sight picture is good but the battery thing is and can be an issue. You might check,out something innate trijicon line. With your discounts you can find something. Don't skimp,on your equipment for your life

Top
#5807974 - 06/27/15 10:41 AM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
BigPig Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 9548
Loc: Forney, Tx
A lot of guys I know switched from Eotech to Aimpoint, I've never used the Eotech so I can't give anything helpful. I do know the Aimpoint PRO is a great sight for the money and the battery has like a 3 year life and is designed to be left on in the ready.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#5808262 - 06/27/15 05:18 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
luv2brode Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 09/23/06
Posts: 3599
Loc: austin area
I like the aimpoint better than eo due to reticle size
_________________________
i am cancelling my subscription, i am tired of your issues!

Top
#5808271 - 06/27/15 05:35 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
glb1955 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 07/21/11
Posts: 305
Loc: Brazos County Texas
I stick with the Aimpoints on my patrol rifle. Just never have cared for the Eotech. I will not knock them though as they are good and have their uses. If you are using the rifle for entry, and just want something on the weapon, then the Eotech will work. If you are city officer then I would say the same. If you are in the county then you might think about the Aimpoint. Mine is NV compatible, if that is what you want. My rifle has a front sight and I know that, if my battery is out or I don't turn the dot on, that if my front sight is covering my target that I am going to hit. That should be the same way with the Eotech, unless you just don't get aligned well when you bring it up to the ready. The main thing is to get one that can handle getting knocked around and that you are comfortable with.

Top
#5808580 - 06/27/15 10:54 PM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
jorge Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 02/01/11
Posts: 3944
Loc: Lake Jackson, TX
Cousin is in Marsoc, and he and the entire unit use eotech for cqb work. I have ran 3 gun with both and still have both. If my range is 100 yds in eotech if ill use at 100+ exclusively the aimpoint. I noticed for me the situational awareness and peripheral is much easier with eotech. I tend to get tunneling with aimpoint. Both quality choices comes down to personal preference. Fwiw i here the new mako/idf holo sight is worth every penny and hell of good battery life.
_________________________
Jorge Sakai
South Texas Trophy Outfitters

Contact #: 210-837-6742
GEORGE.SAKAI@YAHOO.COM

Top
#5808723 - 06/28/15 08:29 AM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: fr3db3ar]
patriot07 Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 963
Loc: Royse City, TX
Originally Posted By: fr3db3ar
Mine isn't NV compatible but there is nothing wrong with the 512. I wear a flip to the side 3x magnifier on mine and shot a coyote pup in the head @ 170 yards. They can be just fine for longer shots. While the reticle seems pixelated on it's own, once you add the magnifier it becomes crystal clear. YMMV
The magnifier is the way to go for anything long-range. But dang that thing is expensive!

Top
#5808877 - 06/28/15 11:08 AM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
dgilbert Online   content
6 pack abs

Registered: 09/04/04
Posts: 18716
I just have 512 on mine, does fine, nothing fancy, but I wasn't looking for fancy either.

Top
#5808884 - 06/28/15 11:25 AM Re: Eotech for duty AR [Re: kstringer]
kstringer Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/14/10
Posts: 212
Loc: Houston, Tx
Alright. Thanks guys for all your feedback. It's greatly appreciated. There is a gun show here in Houston in a few weeks so I'll get to look at the aim point and eotech side by side.
_________________________

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide