Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet, koondawgman, orlandowiebe, Z-man65
60479 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77512
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41122
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32681
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60479 Members
45 Forums
476187 Topics
6246677 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5772383 - 06/03/15 03:00 PM To anneal brass or not
mctaxidermy Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/19/08
Posts: 1123
Loc: hurst/tx
I was thinking about getting one by Giraud Cartridge Case Annealer but what y'all's thoughts on getting one I reload for myself and don't shoot competition but I do have a lot of different calibers all the way up to a 50 BMG so some brass is high dollar and hard to come by mainly I load an store more than I shoot an the only other reason for getting one is to have new toy on reloading bench but 550.00 bucks is a lot to drop an if it will benefit me for reloading opinions welcome please


Edited by mctaxidermy (06/03/15 03:14 PM)
_________________________
skull man www.mctaxidermy.com

Top
#5772460 - 06/03/15 03:39 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
Gummi Bear Offline
Tracker

Registered: 03/18/10
Posts: 991
Loc: D / FW
Yes, anneal.

My buddy cooked up an idea for one, and we split the cost of materials for it. I've done a few thousand rounds so far with it, works pretty darn good.



All the parts are linked in the description.


I am also impressed with the auto feed annealer, there are lots of how-to videos on them. Some with a very reasonable budget (under $100), just Google for them.

_________________________
“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately...”

Henry David Thoreau

Top
#5772640 - 06/03/15 05:39 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
Judd Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 10762
Loc: Sachse, TX
Yes to annealing...it will provide you much more consistent neck tension, which greatly effects accuracy.

I have a BenchSource...it's an awesome piece of equipment but it is not cheap.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Phil Robertson
Don't let your ears hear what your eyes didn't see, and don't let your mouth say what your heart doesn't feel

Top
#5772895 - 06/03/15 07:49 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
mctaxidermy Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/19/08
Posts: 1123
Loc: hurst/tx
Cool deal order one tomorrow thanks for info
_________________________
skull man www.mctaxidermy.com

Top
#5773066 - 06/03/15 09:18 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
I have the Giraud. It will process lots of brass very quickly. If you are short on time as many of us are, it is the tool for the job. No matter what, anneal. The budget and the mechanics of the machine is up to you.

I got 7 loadings out of .260 Rem brass.

I am on the fifth loading of hot loaded .22-250 loads.

Both cartridges were loaded fairly hot and have been annealed twice throughout their life. I will be annealing every other firing now that I have my own machine.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5773403 - 06/04/15 06:10 AM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: FiremanJG]
Rockfish Dave Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 08/12/11
Posts: 246
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
I have the Giraud. It will process lots of brass very quickly. If you are short on time as many of us are, it is the tool for the job. No matter what, anneal. The budget and the mechanics of the machine is up to you.

I got 7 loadings out of .260 Rem brass.

I am on the fifth loading of hot loaded .22-250 loads.

Both cartridges were loaded fairly hot and have been annealed twice throughout their life. I will be annealing every other firing now that I have my own machine.



What he said. Plus if you want to improve it to be a great annealer here are some links on how to upgrade:

http://forum.snipershide.info/snipers-hi...servations.html

http://forum.snipershide.info/showthread.php?t=253652





Edited by Rockfish Dave (06/04/15 06:11 AM)
_________________________
"Sheep have two speeds: grazing and stampede."
- Lt. Col. Dave Grossman

"They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
- Benjamin Franklin

Top
#5773502 - 06/04/15 07:39 AM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
Vern1 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/13/11
Posts: 1760
Loc: Pettytown, TX, US of A
After about 5 trips thru the rifle without annealing, my 6.8 brass starts to crack and split at the shoulder.
I just finished this machine last week and already have ran 600-700 223/5.56 and 6.8SPC brass thru it.
My total cost was easily under 100.00 as I had quite a bit of the materials.
The only parts I had to buy were the gear motors, digital speed controllers, power supply and the 6" heavy duty cake pan and a dedicated torch.
Took about a month for the motors and speed controllers to come in but I collected the rest of the parts during that time.

Here is a link with the plans and parts list.
$75.00 DIY Annealing Machine

Here is a short video of one of the test runs. Made a few changes since this was taken and it runs 100 percent now.
_________________________
Cheers,
Vern1
Texans since 1824
NRA Lifetime Member

Top
#5773530 - 06/04/15 08:03 AM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
Gravytrain Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 16927
Loc: Rowlett, Tx
Hey Vern, would it need changes to run 30-06, or 300 WM?
Would it be quick change, or just build another one changes?

Top
#5773595 - 06/04/15 08:38 AM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
schmellba99 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 06/30/14
Posts: 178
Loc: Gulf Coast, Texas
Yes, anneal.

I am simple and do it by hand, but in all reality I only have a couple of rifles that I'll ever anneal for, so it is fairly easy for me to do so.

Top
#5773622 - 06/04/15 08:57 AM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: Gravytrain]
Vern1 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/13/11
Posts: 1760
Loc: Pettytown, TX, US of A
Originally Posted By: Gravytrain
Hey Vern, would it need changes to run 30-06, or 300 WM?
Would it be quick change, or just build another one changes?


EDITED VERSION:

I only reload 223/6.8/458 right now so I built it to fit that particular brass range.

Amazingly, I just tested some 30-06 brass and it fed and dropped in the pan just fine.
This would only require repositioning the torch head to hit the right spot.
The drum and feed speed would have to be adjusted for different sized brass but that's done by turning the knobs and observing the digital display.
If you mostly shoot longer brass, I would still make it deeper and use spacers for shorter brass.

Give me a minute - I just shot some video of it running 30-06 - minus the torch being on...
Here you go...




Edited by Vern1 (06/04/15 11:07 AM)
_________________________
Cheers,
Vern1
Texans since 1824
NRA Lifetime Member

Top
#5774222 - 06/04/15 02:54 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
vanguard Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 01/11/10
Posts: 3230
in my opinion anealing is good for consistent neck tension . i havent found my brass to last any longer, my brass always fails at the case head, i never get split necks.
i also only anneal by hand, i dont reload that much stuff to need a machine.
_________________________

Top
#5774599 - 06/04/15 07:15 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: vanguard]
Vern1 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/13/11
Posts: 1760
Loc: Pettytown, TX, US of A
Originally Posted By: vanguard
i havent found my brass to last any longer, my brass always fails at the case head.


I use the 6.8 in an AR platform and have to push the shoulder back a few thousandths each time or they won't chamber.
If I don't anneal they crack and split right at the shoulder over time.
_________________________
Cheers,
Vern1
Texans since 1824
NRA Lifetime Member

Top
#5774634 - 06/04/15 07:39 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
mctaxidermy Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/19/08
Posts: 1123
Loc: hurst/tx
Ordered Giraud today be couple months for it being put together he is backlog really bad but I think the wait be worth it o ya can you anneal brass you have already sized an not primed just cleaned
_________________________
skull man www.mctaxidermy.com

Top
#5774782 - 06/04/15 09:32 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
You can anneal brass already sized, but I wouldn't. If I annealed brass already sized I would size it again, since annealing changes the structure of the metal. Clean, anneal, partial FL size, trim, prime, load, shoot.

That's my process anyway. If I have virgin brass I will FL size, trim, prime, load, shoot. Next go round is FL size, prime, load, shoot. From then on I will clean, anneal, and trim every other firing. Meaning you still get two firings after each time you anneal. Some guys anneal after every firing, but I won't unless the brass or the ammo tells me I need to.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5774797 - 06/04/15 09:42 PM Re: To anneal brass or not [Re: mctaxidermy]
mctaxidermy Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/19/08
Posts: 1123
Loc: hurst/tx
Cool thanks
_________________________
skull man www.mctaxidermy.com

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide