Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
MMHunter, Horseshoer22, Big Star Lacy Dogs, Hackertrap, mkk
61539 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80581
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44029
BOBO the Clown 41816
BMD 40600
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36746
txshntr 34225
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31088
facebook
Forum Stats
61539 Members
46 Forums
423103 Topics
5840922 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5750533 - 05/19/15 10:14 AM Question about QD Mounts
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 7287
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Do you guys find that most of the time they RTZ after removal/reattachment, or are at least close to it? Mounts in question are a Burris PEPR and a RRA QD mount, rifle is a RRA, but just kinda asking in general.
_________________________

Top
#5750629 - 05/19/15 11:06 AM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Cast Online   happy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 15506
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
The good ones will RTZ. I have a couple on my latest AR builds. GGG I think. Remember to mark the rail so you can put them back where they came from.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5751013 - 05/19/15 03:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Slow Drifter Offline


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4311
Loc: Central Texas
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


Edited by Slow Drifter (05/19/15 03:59 PM)
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#5751100 - 05/19/15 04:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: Slow Drifter]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 7287
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Originally Posted By: Slow Drifter
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


I have a Wheeler, and that is a good practice to follow.
_________________________

Top
#5753114 - 05/20/15 08:56 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
westexhunt Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/05/12
Posts: 892
Loc: San Angelo
I have a Larue and a Bobro they both rtz perfect. I prefer the Bobro it has spring tension and fits all rails without adjustment. The Larue has mechanical adjustments that work but must be adjusted.

Top
#5753232 - 05/20/15 10:16 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
passthru Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/05/06
Posts: 11054
Loc: Saginaw, Tx
The Burris PEPR will.
_________________________
Hunt hard, rest when you're dead.
NRA Life Member
southwestdocks@gmail.com
http://www.threefingersbowhunting.com/

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide