Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Zeb B, hillcountryredraider, duckbrx, yodasheet, Harddr672
60446 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77398
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41089
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33684
bill oxner 32635
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60446 Members
45 Forums
475881 Topics
6242780 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5750533 - 05/19/15 10:14 AM Question about QD Mounts
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 6469
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Do you guys find that most of the time they RTZ after removal/reattachment, or are at least close to it? Mounts in question are a Burris PEPR and a RRA QD mount, rifle is a RRA, but just kinda asking in general.
_________________________

Top
#5750629 - 05/19/15 11:06 AM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
The good ones will RTZ. I have a couple on my latest AR builds. GGG I think. Remember to mark the rail so you can put them back where they came from.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5751013 - 05/19/15 03:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Slow Drifter Offline


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4253
Loc: Central Texas
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


Edited by Slow Drifter (05/19/15 03:59 PM)
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#5751100 - 05/19/15 04:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: Slow Drifter]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 6469
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Originally Posted By: Slow Drifter
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


I have a Wheeler, and that is a good practice to follow.
_________________________

Top
#5753114 - 05/20/15 08:56 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
westexhunt Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/05/12
Posts: 862
Loc: San Angelo
I have a Larue and a Bobro they both rtz perfect. I prefer the Bobro it has spring tension and fits all rails without adjustment. The Larue has mechanical adjustments that work but must be adjusted.

Top
#5753232 - 05/20/15 10:16 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
passthru Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/05/06
Posts: 10868
Loc: Saginaw, Tx
The Burris PEPR will.
_________________________
Hunt hard, rest when you're dead.
NRA Life Member
southwestdocks@gmail.com
http://www.threefingersbowhunting.com/

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide