Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Drkarlson97, HSFence, purplehealth59, Linda51renay, Kaylen Keeter
63305 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 85141
stxranchman 52216
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44341
bill oxner 43861
BOBO the Clown 43129
BMD 40667
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 35067
SnakeWrangler 32708
facebook
Forum Stats
63305 Members
45 Forums
446746 Topics
6156900 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5750533 - 05/19/15 10:14 AM Question about QD Mounts
QuitShootinYoungBucks Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 8498
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Do you guys find that most of the time they RTZ after removal/reattachment, or are at least close to it? Mounts in question are a Burris PEPR and a RRA QD mount, rifle is a RRA, but just kinda asking in general.
_________________________

Top
#5750629 - 05/19/15 11:06 AM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 17176
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
The good ones will RTZ. I have a couple on my latest AR builds. GGG I think. Remember to mark the rail so you can put them back where they came from.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5751013 - 05/19/15 03:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
Slow Drifter Offline


Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4458
Loc: Central Texas
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


Edited by Slow Drifter (05/19/15 03:59 PM)
_________________________
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein


Top
#5751100 - 05/19/15 04:57 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: Slow Drifter]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 8498
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Originally Posted By: Slow Drifter
I have a pair of QD mounts on my CZ 6.5x55 Swede. The only QD mount I've ever had and didn't trust them at all at first. Third trip to the range I was convinced they're good to go. It's an extra step that I'm not sure even matters, but I do re-torque both tension screws with the Wheeler Fat Wrench when replacing on the rifle. Can't recall off-hand the torque they call for, but have it written down inside the wrench case. I could probably get pretty close by hand, but I have the Wheeler so why not.


I have a Wheeler, and that is a good practice to follow.
_________________________

Top
#5753114 - 05/20/15 08:56 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
westexhunt Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/05/12
Posts: 898
Loc: San Angelo
I have a Larue and a Bobro they both rtz perfect. I prefer the Bobro it has spring tension and fits all rails without adjustment. The Larue has mechanical adjustments that work but must be adjusted.

Top
#5753232 - 05/20/15 10:16 PM Re: Question about QD Mounts [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
passthru Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/05/06
Posts: 11202
Loc: Saginaw, Tx
The Burris PEPR will.
_________________________
I work hard, drink a little and hunt when I can.
NRA Life Member
southwestdocks@gmail.com
http://www.threefingersbowhunting.com/

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide