Print Thread
Can you help teach a new hunter? #5742317 05/13/15 06:23 PM
B
Booner1 Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
I am fairly new to hunting spring turkey(second season) and only have on jake to my credit that I stumbled across that my BIL took. Other than that I have had very little success with even getting one in very close at all. Just finding a property where the birds want to be has become a real challenge. I have had a couple come to a fence row but not cross and one to a creek but he didn't cross over either. I am hunting the LBJ Grasslands and there is a lot of land there to cover but the areas that I hunt does have turkey because I see them on private lands adjacent to it nearly everywhere. I do realize that I need to scout a bunch but what I need help with is, what types of areas do the turkey like best? What do they eat? Is there a certain type of property that appeals to them more than others? Guess what I thought I might be learning hasn't proved to be very affective. I know there is no substitute for time in the woods and I will continue to work at it each season until I get better at it. Anything that you as a turkey hunter could share with me to help better my chances would be greatly appreciated. I'm not asking for any locations or parcels of land to hunt, just things to help me out when scouting other places to hunt, decoy setups and such. Thanks again in advance for your help and your suggestions.

Born to hunt and fish.
Re: Can you help teach a new hunter? [Re: Booner1] #5742576 05/13/15 09:21 PM
W
Western Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
W
When you have a tom hang up on an obstruction like a fence, a lot of times if you can ease back without being seen, say 50 yards, they will think you're leaving and may get antsy enough to cross. If you are seeing birds, you are in the right place. trial and error in the field, will teach you more than anything.

If at first you dont succeed, then skydiving is not for you..