Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Qoutfitters, jco9, Rockin G Ranch, Craroxy, Corey J
61984 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 81788
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44187
BOBO the Clown 42269
BMD 40617
bill oxner 38634
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34377
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31245
facebook
Forum Stats
61984 Members
46 Forums
429977 Topics
5927936 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5722051 - 04/29/15 01:58 PM do i need a bipod?
Arrowslinger82 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 07/10/14
Posts: 380
so i posted a couople of days ago that i picked up an ar 15 in trade. its .223 and has a bull barrel. im trying to figure out just what i want to add to it whether i want to get a drop in trigger or have mine just worked over, what kinda optics im going to put on it, etc. so that got me thinking if i needed a bipod or not. id want one that was a quick detach of some sort, and ive got a fortis rail so i would need either the adapter bracket or a bipod that has keymod attachments

Top
#5722071 - 04/29/15 02:08 PM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
BigPig Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 10755
Loc: Forney, Tx
No, thats what the 30 round magazine is for.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#5722073 - 04/29/15 02:09 PM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
KRoyal Online   sleepy
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/24/07
Posts: 14630
Loc: Sherman/North of Dallas
If you have a bull barrel that gun is probably already a pig in the weight department. I don't really seeing you using it much for off hand shots so why not add a bipod. If you have a KeyMod rail system I used the IWC KeyMod sling swivel to attach my Harris to my KeyMod rail.

_________________________



Top
#5722075 - 04/29/15 02:09 PM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
rexmitchell Online   content
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 02/11/13
Posts: 2059
All depends where you are going to be shooting. If at a bench then not necessarily. If you are going to be shooting off the ground or the roof of a truck then absolutely.

Top
#5724247 - 04/30/15 06:39 PM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
Pitchfork Predator Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/13
Posts: 12158
Loc: Murphy, TX Dickens county
LaRue/Harris QD. Light weight compared to the others. up
_________________________
Marc C. Helfrich
Retirement Planner

www.insured-wealth.com
469-323-8920

Top
#5724259 - 04/30/15 06:47 PM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: BigPig]
JCB Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 02/06/07
Posts: 23026
Loc: M.I.A.
Originally Posted By: BigPig
No, thats what the 30 round magazine is for.


clap

I will say that those heavy barrels on AR's are a pain to shoot free handed though. And adding the weight of a bipod to a already heavy gun just makes it that much more of a pain to carry around. I would look into shooting sticks or something like that to shoot off of if you plan on carrying it much. You carry that heavy barrel with a bipod on it for more than a few hundred yards at a time and you will start to see why I say look at something that doesn't attach to the gun.



Edited by JCB (04/30/15 06:48 PM)
Edit Reason: And yes I have been there, done that, wont do it again!

Top
#5724744 - 05/01/15 07:43 AM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Pitchfork Predator]
SingleShot85 Online   content


Registered: 05/27/09
Posts: 1782
Loc: S.A. and Kinney Co.
Originally Posted By: Pitchfork Predator
LaRue/Harris QD. Light weight compared to the others. up


or an Atlas with the quick detach. Better to have and not need than not have and need.....

Top
#5724759 - 05/01/15 07:50 AM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
jhenderson Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 02/07/10
Posts: 5719
Loc: Lake dallas
I'd buy the Jp spring kit and do that before ordering a trigger. $10 well spent and leave money for other things.

Top
#5724915 - 05/01/15 09:20 AM Re: do i need a bipod? [Re: Arrowslinger82]
Gone to Texas Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/05/13
Posts: 2639
Loc: Hurst
I was curious about bipods a little while back. I bought a Cadwell which is a cheaper option, it works great. I am really happy I bought it, I use it at the range, use it to plink squirrels with my .22, and it's a lot of fun shooting prone. Going to try my hand at coyote hunting this weekend, bringing the bipod along.

Just make sure you you get one that swivels so you can set it up on unlevel ground.
_________________________

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide