Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
timlewi14, JamesThompson, Hunterwannabe, Zeb B, hillcountryredraider
60449 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77414
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43786
BOBO the Clown 41102
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32639
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60449 Members
45 Forums
475962 Topics
6243642 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5711547 - 04/22/15 11:42 AM Turrets... capped or exposed?
ccreyeder Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/07/11
Posts: 295
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
I currently have a Burris MTAC on my "night hunting" rig. I like it well enough, but I am in need of another 1-4 scope anyway so was leaning toward tying out the Vortex 1-4 PST. I likely will be putting which ever one works better with my thermal clip on (that I am still waiting on to come in bang) on my night hunting rifle.

I've never had exposed or "target" turrets. I like the look of them, and would be interested in trying them out. However, is there a concern with them moving off zero accidentally while stalking at night, rubbing on gear, removing from the atv gun rack, etc. Its already a pain in the backside having to deal with deploying my shooting sticks, turning on the MVR, turning on the IR illuminator, etc.. I dont want to have to remember to check my turrets to see if they have moved. If I were planning on using it in the daylight, I would definitely go with the "target turrets" to give them a try, for night time, I wonder if it will be a hassle?

Any thoughts, advice?

Top
#5711559 - 04/22/15 11:47 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
How far do you plan to shoot at night? If you're under 200 yards, there's not much need for a turret. Hold .5 Mil for elevation and let er rip.

SS 1-4 and 1-6 give you the option of exposed turrets or turrets under caps. Not sure if the Vortex does this. Someone will know.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5711565 - 04/22/15 11:49 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
6.5x47Lapua Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/13/14
Posts: 518
Loc: dfw
I prefer capped turrets. Especially the windage knob. Several times my turrets have turned from zero. It's a pain, and has cost me a few pigs.

On a 1-4 or 1-6 type scope, just get a good reticle. Zero the rifle, cap the turrets, and use the reticle for sight adjustments.

But you must get some range time using the reticle only. It won't come as natural as centering up the cross hair. Once you have practiced, and have good dope, you will do fine.

Top
#5711585 - 04/22/15 12:00 PM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
ccreyeder Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/07/11
Posts: 295
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Thanks yall. Yea, forgot to mention that would definitely be shooting under 200 yrds.

I dont shoot long distance enough, day OR night, to have ever NEEDED exposed turrets. Just thought since I was getting a new scope anyway, I might try them. But not at the expense of them moving at not noticing in the dark of night.

Top
#5711622 - 04/22/15 12:19 PM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
RifleDude Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 02/24/14
Posts: 162
Loc: Brenham, TX
Unless you plan to shoot at critters beyond 400 yds or so, exposed tactical/target turrets provide no real advantage to offset their inconvenience, IMO. Once you learn your rifle/ammo's MPBR, you'll probably find a 250 yd zero will cover 90%+ of all the BG hunting situations you'll likely encounter here in TX. Just zero at 250 yards, use bullets with decent BC (over .45 or so G1) and "hold on hair" out to 325-350 yards.
_________________________
Ted

Top
#5712388 - 04/22/15 08:41 PM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
Big Fitz Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 12/06/09
Posts: 2008
Loc: McKinney, TX
Yes, Viper has a version of their 1-4x24 PST that has capped turrets. I have one and really like it and specifically chose it because of capped turrets...no need for me twisting them on a 1-4 scope. Now for the bad news, the sub tensions are MOA and it is SFP peep

Viper 1-4 PST
_________________________
Originally Posted By: syncerus
I prefer to think of myself as a control enthusiast. wink

Top
#5712472 - 04/22/15 09:26 PM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
6.5x47Lapua Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/13/14
Posts: 518
Loc: dfw
One of these days, Vortex is going to figure out that today's hunters also use the mil-radian system.

They make some decent mid quality hunting scopes, and then mess them up by only offering them with MOA based reticles.

Like this scope for an example. Good hunting magnification, capped turrets, ffp.................moa adjustments and reticle.....
http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vort...xlr-moa-reticle


Edited by 6.5x47Lapua (04/22/15 09:29 PM)

Top
#5714313 - 04/24/15 06:23 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
VAFish Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 02/09/15
Posts: 99
Loc: Fairfax, VA
The only reason for exposed turrets is to adjust for long range shooting.

If you are only shooting out to 200 yards there is no need for exposed turrets and their disadvantages far out weigh any advantage.

On a hunting rifle I'm not adjusting the turrets in the field anyway, I will estimate my range and hold over the appropriate amount.
_________________________
"If your plan is for one year, plant rice.
If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
If your plan is for one hundred years, educate children."
-- Confucius

Top
#5714344 - 04/24/15 07:00 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
wp75169 Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 10/11/09
Posts: 3871
Loc: Wills Point
The worst exposed turret is leupold CDS. it spins very freely. In and out of a zipper bag or rubbing on clothes. Pretty much anything. The only one I have is on a VX-R on my wife's hunting rifle. I have found it off zero many times. It sucks that she has to check it before each shot.

Top
#5714353 - 04/24/15 07:05 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
BigPig Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 08/27/09
Posts: 9512
Loc: Forney, Tx
Have you considered the Vortex Strike Eagle? It's cheaper than the Viper, has capped turrets, and is a 1x6.

http://www.vortexoptics.com/category/strike_eagle_riflescopes
_________________________
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
Ever spit it out rather than swallow it?

Originally Posted By: pegasaurus
Enjoy it while you can. One day you might be complaining about NOT getting random pop-ups in the morning. grin

Top
#5714591 - 04/24/15 09:51 AM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
ccreyeder Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 08/07/11
Posts: 295
Loc: San Antonio, Tx
Thanks for the real world experiences ya'll... that was what I wanted to hear. Decision made... going capped.

Big, I DID consider the strike eagle. It looks promising, but looks like it will still be a while before it is out. Plus, Lapua got me to thinking about not being a beta tester lol

Top
#5714836 - 04/24/15 12:16 PM Re: Turrets... capped or exposed? [Re: ccreyeder]
6.5x47Lapua Offline
Tracker

Registered: 12/13/14
Posts: 518
Loc: dfw
Good idea.

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide