Print Thread
Public Land Rio's #5709010 04/20/15 10:03 PM
S
SpawnofChesty Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
S

For nine years I served in the Marines and served three combat tours in Iraq and Afghanistan as an infantry machine gunner. After I started working jobs that involved offices my need to get back outdoors drew me to hunting. Three years ago I started getting into hunting seriously. I used to go once a year but now I try to go way more.
As I was getting more into it I started learning about turkey hunting and wanted to try it. I had no one in the family who had any experience turkey hunting and my Dad swore there were no turkey's in East Texas. On this forum I met up with a guy who offered to take me to a public land spot that he had heard and seen evidence of turkeys. This guy is a turkey hunting guru and I figured that out fast.
In the spring of 2014 we went to the Sabine National Forest and planned on camping out there two days. By nine in the morning he had his eastern turkey down. We went to the check in station and then by the time we got back it was 12. We figured we would call a little bit and then go set up camp. He called a little and then both of us fell asleep. At 2PM my first turkey came running in and in my dazed state from just being woken up I still hit my target. He posted the whole story on this forum back then.
This spring we tried to hunt together again but our schedules did not work out. I made a few calls to some folks at the TPWD and the NWTF and they pointed me to a hidden gem where you could walk in and hunt Rio Grande Turkeys on public land.