Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
BigHit, Sifat, TJWatkins, Jlivi1224, 65chevy
60473 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77465
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43786
BOBO the Clown 41117
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32656
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60473 Members
45 Forums
476079 Topics
6245203 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#5701319 - 04/15/15 02:34 PM Feeder problem
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
So Yesterday morning I get up and check my computer to look at my game camera pictures from overnight. I open the first picture and well it wasn't good. I see that my feeder has taken a tumble and spilled the freshly filled corn all over the ground. I just filled this feeder last Wednesday. From the picture it appears that one of the leg brackets finally gave it up and broke.

Yesterdays Pic


Birds enjoying


So much for lounging around the house. I loaded up a drove the four hours to fix the feeder and save what corn I can. Luckily there hasn't been any rain up there in the last day or two. So one quick stop to buy a new leg bracket kit and I'm off. I get to the feeder and salvage most of the corn and get the new leg kit put on. Unfortunately the legs didn't exactly work with the new brackets. after a little engineering I got part of the legs on it and the feeder back in the air. filled the feeder and drove back home. I'll fix it the right way the next time I'm at the lease.

This mornings pic
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
#5701347 - 04/15/15 02:44 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
PMK Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 4970
Loc: Central TX (Gtown/Austin)
up

no livestock in the pasture?

what is the location (general) and what does it cost to have pictures emailed/texted from your game camera?
_________________________
"everyone that lives dies but not everyone who dies lived..."

~PMK~

Top
#5701371 - 04/15/15 02:53 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: PMK]
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
No livestock. Property is surrounded by farmers. Its a approx. 250 acres up around Memphis TX.
I just added a line with unlimited text to my current AT&T plan at the cost of $20 a month. Its nice to be able to check pics without going to lease.
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
#5701416 - 04/15/15 03:25 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
PMK Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 4970
Loc: Central TX (Gtown/Austin)
how did you get the camera sync'd up with the new AT&T unlimited text line? take the camera into an AT&T store? that is dang cool!
_________________________
"everyone that lives dies but not everyone who dies lived..."

~PMK~

Top
#5701546 - 04/15/15 04:44 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi

Registered: 08/04/10
Posts: 52092
Those style leg brackets are not the strongest. My guess with rain and weight of the corn/feeder one gave away. 2cents
_________________________


Top
#5701551 - 04/15/15 04:48 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: PMK]
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
It takes the sim card from a cell phone. Once I had the card, I had to go to the cameras website and download a profile onto the SD card and insert it into the camera. You can set the camera up to text the pictures, which are not really that good, or set it to email the pictures which is what I have the camera set up to do. It all runs off my text usage so it doesn't count against any data usage on my cell plan. The first and last picture is what I get VIA email. The second picture I uploaded from the SD card from the camera. The camera I use cost me around $230.00 off ebay. Its a scout guard camera, but there are quit a few different options available. I know bushnell, spy point and others make these type of cameras.
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
#5701616 - 04/15/15 05:18 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
PMK Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 09/10/12
Posts: 4970
Loc: Central TX (Gtown/Austin)
trying to follow since you used two different card types. so you need a SIM card from a phone (could be an old phone?) that you load into the camera (I am guessing so it is connected to AT&T (or whatever phone service)) ... do you have to go to AT&T to get a phone number assigned to that SIM card?

and then you connect the camera OR place the camera SD card into a computer while connected to the internet, go to the camera website to download a profile onto the SD card (I am guessing this is so it recognizes the camera with the setup profile from the website).

I would think that if the camera sends you an email instead of a text, that would go against your data??? a text no, but an email yes???

I would also guess that if you had multiple cameras like this those would need separate phone lines???
_________________________
"everyone that lives dies but not everyone who dies lived..."

~PMK~

Top
#5701670 - 04/15/15 05:53 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: PMK]
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
Sorry for the confusion... Yes the sim card has to be from AT&T and has a phone number assigned to it. That allows you to have cell service to the camera. Once you have the sim card you just insert it into the camera. You aslo have to make sure that you have good cell coverage at the deer lease.

The SD card has to be inserted for the camera to save and send the pictures. I first went to the camera website and down loaded the camera profile onto the SD card. I then inserted the SD card into the camera and down loaded the profile to the camera from the SD card. I believe you can by pass that step and just download the profile to the camera by connecting a computer to the camera VIA USB cable. (not sure on that), I've just used the SD card to download the profile onto the camera.

I'm not sure why when it emails the pictures that it does not use my data. It has to do with the camera programming from the factory. I've had my camera out for over a year and have never used any of my data.

I do know because of the way the pictures are sent that the picture quality suffers and you don't get the best quality picture sent to you. When I go to the lease and download the pictures you get pretty good quality pictures from the SD card just like any other camera.
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
#5703207 - 04/16/15 02:55 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
Shotgun Willie Online   content
Tracker

Registered: 01/05/10
Posts: 806
Loc: McKinney, TX
Originally Posted By: Texasrebel649
I do know because of the way the pictures are sent that the picture quality suffers and you don't get the best quality picture sent to you. When I go to the lease and download the pictures you get pretty good quality pictures from the SD card just like any other camera.


Probably compresses the file to make it easier to email. Have you been happy with the camera? Battery life?

Top
#5703222 - 04/16/15 03:04 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Shotgun Willie]
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
I've been extremely happy with the camera. I have a solar panel hooked up to it so I don't have to worry about the batteries. If your lease isn't close, I highly recommend getting one of these type of camera set ups.
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
#5703229 - 04/16/15 03:09 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
I've got two Covert 3G's. I'm very happy with them. I have an old flip phone that is not considered 'smart'. I take it to AT&T store and add it to family plan for 9.99 a month. Go home, pull SIM card and put it in camera, and I'm up. They get confused when they see a camera.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5704196 - 04/17/15 05:05 AM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
Dave Davidson Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/24/06
Posts: 4284
Loc: Hurst, Tx
Is AT&T the only provider that you can use?
_________________________
Without a sense of urgency, nothing ever happens.

Boy, if I say "sic em", you'd better look for something to bite. Sam Shelley, Rancher Muleshoe Texas 1892-1985 RIP

Top
#5704469 - 04/17/15 08:52 AM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
Yes, AT&T and one more I think for the 3G Coverts.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5706770 - 04/18/15 08:44 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Texasrebel649]
Pitchfork Predator Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 01/25/13
Posts: 10833
Loc: Murphy, TX Dickens county
Nice camera set up. Now you need a nice feeder to go with it. up
_________________________
Marc C. Helfrich
Retirement Planner

www.insured-wealth.com
469-323-8920

Top
#5707646 - 04/19/15 06:16 PM Re: Feeder problem [Re: Pitchfork Predator]
Texasrebel649 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 09/08/14
Posts: 322
Loc: Azle,TX
I agree...thinkin a new feeder with a ladder platform would do nice.
grin
_________________________
Life is about the choices YOU make...Good or Bad!

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide