Forums46
Topics537,794
Posts9,729,214
Members87,042
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Anatomy of a Nilgai Hunt (at Double Shot Outfitters) - [long read] #5698125 04/13/15 10:06 PM
J
John Humbert Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
J
“This is pretty far south”, I said to myself as I drove through Sarita on Hwy 77 heading south. A quick glance at the dashboard GPS on the Jeep told me I had about an hour left to go to Double Shot Outfitter’s shop south of Raymondville.

I was on my way to finally make good on a 3-year quest to complete my Texas/India slam with a hunt for Nilgai. I had been talking with Adam Batot at DSO for the past two years wanting to go, but life circumstances had gotten in the way either preventing me from booking, or forcing me to cancel plans. Adam had kept in good spirits - very patient and understanding as I flip-flopped a couple of times, before making a hard commitment a couple months ago.

With several Blackbuck, and lots of Axis under my belt – I was eager, excited, and frankly a bit apprehensive about the Nilgai. Were they as good tasting as they say? I’d heard all the stories about how hard they are to bring down, having to make long shots on the run, etc. But the time for stories was over, and soon I would have my own.