Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
yodasheet, Harddr672, RickyRuiz, Mini4teen, Mjarvistxvet
60443 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77387
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41089
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33683
bill oxner 32627
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60443 Members
45 Forums
475825 Topics
6242160 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5690801 - 04/08/15 06:33 PM Chargemaster issue
daniel1381 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 3503
Loc: longview texas
Chargemaster maybe 6mths old

Was loading some 338lm tonight with h1000 load was 90.5 gr

Chargemaster would drop and then trickle in to the 90.5 charge and ding saying it was ready. After seeing what load number flashed on screen it showed 90.5 then is would dip to 90.2 and back to 90.5 then dip to 90.4. It did this on several loads finally got tired of it and shut it down for the night. It loaded the first 5 loads fine then I noticed it when I put the powder pan back on it wasn't stable 0.0 if is bounce around .1 or .2. No powder grains on the black powder stand. I'm at a lost. Tried to zero and re calibrate it several times

I'm loading on a solid surface and no cell phone around and no fans. Gave the machine 20 min warmup time and I always calibrate it before using.


Edited by daniel1381 (04/08/15 06:35 PM)
_________________________
"From my cold dead hands"

"Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do."

Benjamin Franklin


Top
#5690914 - 04/08/15 07:33 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
noylj Offline
Light Foot

Registered: 12/08/10
Posts: 35
Was there a breeze and did you have the "wind shield" closed?
Simply moving your hand over the pan will cause it to fluctuate.
First thing to always do is call RCBS and talk to them.
I have had no problems with my CM since I bought it (one of the first ones on the market).

Top
#5690929 - 04/08/15 07:48 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
daniel1381 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 3503
Loc: longview texas
No wind shield never really used it . Loading inside the house no fans around
_________________________
"From my cold dead hands"

"Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do."

Benjamin Franklin


Top
#5690976 - 04/08/15 08:17 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6217
Loc: Wise Co.
I really don't know if this will help, but there's always the possibility of static electricity causing weird stuff. To address that I'd wipe the unit and adjacent surfaces down with dryer sheets and recalibrate. It might not help at all, but its worth a try. Maybe.
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#5691122 - 04/08/15 09:34 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
Hunter-Steve Offline
Tracker

Registered: 01/17/10
Posts: 713
Loc: Plano. TX
My AC would come on and this same thing would happen. I had to use the shield or wait till the AC went off.
_________________________
NRA Life Member - NRA Certified Instructor

Top
#5691124 - 04/08/15 09:34 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
Hunter-Steve Offline
Tracker

Registered: 01/17/10
Posts: 713
Loc: Plano. TX
My AC would come on and this same thing would happen. I had to use the shield or wait till the AC went off.
_________________________
NRA Life Member - NRA Certified Instructor

Top
#5691450 - 04/09/15 07:21 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
daniel1381 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/07/12
Posts: 3503
Loc: longview texas
Ok will try it today and see what happens thanks for the help guys! Will also make sure my ac is off
_________________________
"From my cold dead hands"

"Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do."

Benjamin Franklin


Top
#5691465 - 04/09/15 07:31 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
Dave3575 Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 02/12/12
Posts: 1019
Loc: Plano, TX
Originally Posted By: daniel1381
No wind shield never really used it . Loading inside the house no fans around


don't over-complicate it. use the shield.

wind currents are all around you, just by you moving your body it can generate a wind current and those scales will pick it up. you can put your mobile phone on top of a florescent light and mount that to the charge-master and it will have less impact to the readout than a small wind current that you can't even feel.

Top
#5691656 - 04/09/15 08:52 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9413
Loc: Lewisville, TX
It sounds like you are doing all the right things. Also, make sure you do not have any florescent lights within about 5 feet of the unit. And cell phones (or any communication device, including blue tooth items) close by will CERTAINLY mess up the scale.

On the electricity issue- If you have the unit plugged into an outlet that has other items on the same daisy chain of electrical cable, you can get "dirty electricity". Meaning the charge coming through the line to your CM is varying with the power use of the other items on the same line. This dirty power will easily vary the sensitivity of the scale. On my digital scale that is accurate to .02 grains, I can easily see this if I have other items running on the same power loop. To fix this, you can get what they call a line conditioner. You plug the line cond. into the wall and the RCBS CM into it, like a surge protector. It will keep the power coming through the line consistent. Just a thought.
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5691692 - 04/09/15 09:04 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
Judd Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 10757
Loc: Sachse, TX
One thing worth noting and if you knew this then just ignore this post.

The Chargemaster will throw a charge and will show 90.5 then it will show the # of loads (I think it beeps here but I have my beeps turned off) and then it shows the actual weight of the load it thrown. It will indicate on the screen whether its over or under at this point. You can then trickle or dump as you need too.

Short answer and straight to the point, wait until after it displays the round count then see what the scale reads and adjust accordingly.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Phil Robertson
Don't let your ears hear what your eyes didn't see, and don't let your mouth say what your heart doesn't feel

Top
#5691699 - 04/09/15 09:10 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
JTPinTX Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 04/01/15
Posts: 182
Loc: TX Panhandle
Several ideas here, just going to throw them out randomly.

Up here in the panhandle where the wind blows alot and it is dry, static build up can be a real problem. When I first got my Chargemaster it never would settle down until I wiped the whole thing down with an anti-static dryer sheet. Everything I could touch, inside and out. It has run great since then.

As mentioned, sometimes a "dirty" power supply can influence electronics, or electromagnetic radiation from other devices nearby.

But the single best thing I EVER did for my Chargemaster was buying a $12 insert from some guy over on the Predator Masters forum. It is a little brass or aluminum insert that goes in the trickle tube, and he custom turns them to fit the ID of your specific tube. I got one, and I have two friends that have bought them as well. With some powders that didn't meter well we were getting anywhere from 5-15 overthrows on a batch of 50 rounds before the insert. With the inserts in now it has cut that number to 0-2 per 50. The change in precision has been amazing. No clue why RCBS won't change the design to match what he is doing. So simple, and makes such a huge difference.

I would link to it, but being new here I'm not sure if that is acceptable or not. I have no affiliation with the guy, just love seeing a product that does what it says it will.

Top
#5691831 - 04/09/15 09:57 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
JTPinTX Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 04/01/15
Posts: 182
Loc: TX Panhandle
Here is the insert link. If it is against the rules mods can take it down or tell me and I will take it down. Like I said, I have no interest in this at all except for the fact that it is a cheap fix that really, really works.

http://www.predatormastersforums.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2787912

Top
#5691900 - 04/09/15 10:31 AM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
redchevy Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 23397
Loc: Texas
need to use wind shield!

Even with the A/C off just moving your arms, breathing, etc. is enough to make it fluctuate.

I only have one side of the windshield hooked on and I just push it open and closed but don't latch it on the second side, works good for me.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#5694389 - 04/10/15 07:38 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 5023
Loc: Frisco, Texas
line conditioner will help along with no air movement
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Straight



Top
#5694423 - 04/10/15 08:09 PM Re: Chargemaster issue [Re: daniel1381]
okie44 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 04/11/11
Posts: 612
Loc: Midland TX.
Garage door closed, no fan. Gonna wear itself out. confused2

_________________________
“The trouble ain't that there is too many fools, but that the lightning ain't distributed right.”
Mark Twain

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide