Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
R8RInvasion, halterfr33, butchridgeway, JasonJ, tagyourit
61552 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 80617
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44036
BOBO the Clown 41830
BMD 40600
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 36804
txshntr 34226
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31088
facebook
Forum Stats
61552 Members
46 Forums
423318 Topics
5843587 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5687758 - 04/06/15 10:54 PM Could my die be out of spec?
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
After resizing my 6.8 brass I'm having a real hard time hand cycling the rounds through the weapon. It's almost like the brass is causing the bolt to bind and not unlock. Factory ammo cycles just fine. Does this point to the sizing die needing to have a few thousandths killed off the bottom to ensure proper shoulder bump? My other Hornady dies work fine.

Top
#5687814 - 04/07/15 12:01 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
nak Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/26/12
Posts: 904
Loc: DFW
Are you trying to crimp with your seating die? I had occasionally problems when I started reloading 6.8 SPC...they went away when I started using Lee Factory Crimp die instead of crimping with the seating die.
_________________________
NRA Lifer / Member TSRA

Top
#5687819 - 04/07/15 12:06 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
It's getting stuck with unloaded brass. I'm thinking a small base die might be needed instead of just full length.

Top
#5688048 - 04/07/15 08:32 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
Happy Birthday ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 10390
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Please describe your sizing process in detail. And how are you setting up the die, specifically. I doubt your die is out of spec. (In a humorous way), it's probably the reloader out of spec!
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
#5688079 - 04/07/15 08:48 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
603Country Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 07/03/12
Posts: 5298
Loc: Central Texas
Yep, Chad is probably right about your die being Ok, but....

Can you borrow a die from a buddy?

Top
#5688208 - 04/07/15 09:55 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 24858
Loc: Texas
I would re-set up your die, your likely not sizing completely. Had this problem once before as well. After I figured it out I re-set up all my dies.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#5688221 - 04/07/15 10:02 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
Furb Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/06/05
Posts: 1797
Loc: Arlington, TX
Had the same issue with my Hornady 300BLK die, the instructions told me that a cam over was not needed as Hornady dies are designed to not require it, well, the shoulder was about .009" to long and I could not close the bolt, a simple 1/4 turn past the die bottoming out on the shell plate and the problem was fixed.
_________________________
HHUUMMMM, what to write, what to write, I got nothing.

Top
#5688354 - 04/07/15 10:54 AM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
Judd Offline


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 11078
Loc: Sachse, TX
Do you have the die against the shell holder when you resize? How much are you bumping the shoulders when you resize?

Last question...does the case chamber and when you lift the bolt handle it lifts so far then clicks and goes the rest of the way up so you can pull it back?
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Phil Robertson
Don't let your ears hear what your eyes didn't see, and don't let your mouth say what your heart doesn't feel

Top
#5688563 - 04/07/15 01:06 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: ChadTRG42]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
Please describe your sizing process in detail. And how are you setting up the die, specifically. I doubt your die is out of spec. (In a humorous way), it's probably the reloader out of spec!


It could be as I really just started paying attention to my 6.8 in the last couple weeks. Out of the 8 cartridges I load for, this is the only one causing me problems.

The die is a Hornady set up exactly per their spec. http://www.hornady.com/assets/files/manuals-current/metalic-reloading/new_dimension_custom_grade.pdf

I did turn the die an extra 1/8-1/4 turn to hopefully bump the shoulder back.

1. Spray just a little One Shot on the case.
2. Place in shell holder and slowly raise in the die to size.
3. I do another once over to see if I missed any damage or the case was split.

Top
#5688570 - 04/07/15 01:09 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: nak]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
Originally Posted By: nak
Are you trying to crimp with your seating die? I had occasionally problems when I started reloading 6.8 SPC...they went away when I started using Lee Factory Crimp die instead of crimping with the seating die.


I'm not trying to, but the Hornady dies I use have the crimp built in to the seating die. I think I may need to adjust it to keep from crimping and buy the factory Lee crimp die.

Why would it be causing such a hard extraction?

Top
#5688571 - 04/07/15 01:10 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: redchevy]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
Originally Posted By: redchevy
I would re-set up your die, your likely not sizing completely. Had this problem once before as well. After I figured it out I re-set up all my dies.


I've done it 3 times already.

Top
#5688574 - 04/07/15 01:11 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: Furb]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
Originally Posted By: Furb
Had the same issue with my Hornady 300BLK die, the instructions told me that a cam over was not needed as Hornady dies are designed to not require it, well, the shoulder was about .009" to long and I could not close the bolt, a simple 1/4 turn past the die bottoming out on the shell plate and the problem was fixed.


That doesn't make sense to me because if it's contacting the shell plate already then wouldn't the only thing happening is a shorter stroke of the ram?

Top
#5688638 - 04/07/15 01:42 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 19614
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Screw the die in some more to cause cam over. Had more than one chamber need lots of force on the FL die to get it sized properly. Here is where you need a very stout loading bench.


CAM IT OVER!

Try it in the chamber if you don't have a headspace gauge. Trial and error until it fits. You may have to get midevil with it.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5688664 - 04/07/15 01:52 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: tenyearsgone]
Furb Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/06/05
Posts: 1797
Loc: Arlington, TX
Originally Posted By: tenyearsgone
Originally Posted By: Furb
Had the same issue with my Hornady 300BLK die, the instructions told me that a cam over was not needed as Hornady dies are designed to not require it, well, the shoulder was about .009" to long and I could not close the bolt, a simple 1/4 turn past the die bottoming out on the shell plate and the problem was fixed.


That doesn't make sense to me because if it's contacting the shell plate already then wouldn't the only thing happening is a shorter stroke of the ram?


We are talking about Thousandths of an inch, a simple 1/6 turn, very light cam over will just ensure that the brass is going into the FL 100%, I'd start there as I already had that issue once before with Hornady dies, then if that doesn't work, check for a bulge at the neck from a possible crimping issue, had that problem with my 6.8SPC AR.
_________________________
HHUUMMMM, what to write, what to write, I got nothing.

Top
#5688771 - 04/07/15 03:06 PM Re: Could my die be out of spec? [Re: Furb]
tenyearsgone Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1214
Originally Posted By: Furb
Originally Posted By: tenyearsgone
Originally Posted By: Furb
Had the same issue with my Hornady 300BLK die, the instructions told me that a cam over was not needed as Hornady dies are designed to not require it, well, the shoulder was about .009" to long and I could not close the bolt, a simple 1/4 turn past the die bottoming out on the shell plate and the problem was fixed.


That doesn't make sense to me because if it's contacting the shell plate already then wouldn't the only thing happening is a shorter stroke of the ram?


We are talking about Thousandths of an inch, a simple 1/6 turn, very light cam over will just ensure that the brass is going into the FL 100%, I'd start there as I already had that issue once before with Hornady dies, then if that doesn't work, check for a bulge at the neck from a possible crimping issue, had that problem with my 6.8SPC AR.


Even 1/4 of a turn might not take every thousandth out?

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide