6237590 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5687232 - 04/06/15 06:23 PM Hunting question
Stickman11b Offline
Outdoorsman

Loc: Texas
I am new to hunting. My first hunt was with a bow. Very successful and the gentleman that took me was very knowledgeable. Now with that being said. I have not learned about a whole lot between that hunt which was in Nov of 14. Sooo. When I book a another place on my own In Lampasas. I am super stoked. I get to spot and talk walk around stay in a blind what have you. Now this guy was very generous. I had at least a week and a half before he sold the ranch to harvest my doe. This is not so much a question but a opinionated theory from anyone of you fine people.

As I sit in the blind early in the morning to at least noon. No sign of any deer like at all. To make a long story short I txt my other friend who took me with the bow and he tells me to describe to him all that is going on. Where I am how far I am from the feeder. It dawns on him that I am 15-20 yards from a feeder using a rifle. He calls me immediately and tells me that I am not ever going to see a deer because they smelled me before they even got to the feeder. He also informed me that Depending on where I shot the deer there wouldn't be much if at all any meat left. Sad to say A whole nearly two weeks and nothing. I paid 200$ and it wasn't bad at all. In your all's opinion if a person is new to hunting you would help them out correct? I never got any tips from the guy other than park really far from the blind.. Okay, um.. Nothing. Never talked to me about smells or even to bring my own corn. I know for 200$ I shouldn't be complaining. I am just kinda skeptical now about paying more money for a decent hunt and getting the same result. I am going with a guy in Dripping Springs called