Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Nightfisher, 300win, Injureneer, red stick, kyarbrou
62823 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 83688
stxranchman 52093
RWH24 44568
rifleman 44293
BOBO the Clown 42904
bill oxner 41703
BMD 40619
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 34908
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31421
facebook
Forum Stats
62823 Members
46 Forums
440310 Topics
6063888 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5684564 - 04/04/15 07:13 PM I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25.
tenyearsgone Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1418
What can I estimate the trajectory to be at 100 with a 55 grain 5.56? The range wouldn't let me use the 25.

Top
#5684710 - 04/04/15 09:27 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 8145
Loc: Lubbock, TX
I ran it with your red-dot mounted 2" above bore and 3240 fps and BC of .269. At that you should be 1.1 inches high at 100 yds with a zero at 50 yards.
_________________________

Top
#5684712 - 04/04/15 09:30 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
Beaubien Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 02/18/15
Posts: 473
Loc: In the mountains east of ABQ
Deleted misread the question


Edited by Beaubien (04/04/15 09:31 PM)
_________________________


Top
#5684770 - 04/04/15 10:37 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
patriot07 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 1909
Loc: Royse City, TX
Depends on the height difference between your bore and scope. But you should be around an inch high at 100 yards if we're talking an AR. I always zeroed my AR with an EOTech at 50 yards because it was close to being a 200 yard zero as well. Not sure why you'd zero it at 25?

Top
#5684828 - 04/05/15 01:02 AM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: patriot07]
tenyearsgone Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1418
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Depends on the height difference between your bore and scope. But you should be around an inch high at 100 yards if we're talking an AR. I always zeroed my AR with an EOTech at 50 yards because it was close to being a 200 yard zero as well. Not sure why you'd zero it at 25?


Aimpoint's spec but I'm open to ideas. It's the Larue mount with a micro.

Top
#5684829 - 04/05/15 01:03 AM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
tenyearsgone Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1418
Originally Posted By: QuitShootinYoungBucks
I ran it with your red-dot mounted 2" above bore and 3240 fps and BC of .269. At that you should be 1.1 inches high at 100 yds with a zero at 50 yards.


Thanks!

Top
#5684917 - 04/05/15 08:25 AM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
patriot07 Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 1909
Loc: Royse City, TX
Originally Posted By: tenyearsgone
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Depends on the height difference between your bore and scope. But you should be around an inch high at 100 yards if we're talking an AR. I always zeroed my AR with an EOTech at 50 yards because it was close to being a 200 yard zero as well. Not sure why you'd zero it at 25?


Aimpoint's spec but I'm open to ideas. It's the Larue mount with a micro.
Got it. I think I'd stick with the 50-yard zero if it was me. How high would you be at 100 yards with a 25-yard zero? More than an inch I think. That's the problem with a zero at a distance that short.

Top
#5684964 - 04/05/15 09:20 AM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 8145
Loc: Lubbock, TX
Curious, were you indoors? What range wouldn't let you shoot at 25?
_________________________

Top
#5685621 - 04/05/15 06:13 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
tenyearsgone Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1418
Was outdoors at a very large range that goes up to 600.

Top
#5685625 - 04/05/15 06:14 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: patriot07]
tenyearsgone Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 1418
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Originally Posted By: tenyearsgone
Originally Posted By: patriot07
Depends on the height difference between your bore and scope. But you should be around an inch high at 100 yards if we're talking an AR. I always zeroed my AR with an EOTech at 50 yards because it was close to being a 200 yard zero as well. Not sure why you'd zero it at 25?


Aimpoint's spec but I'm open to ideas. It's the Larue mount with a micro.
Got it. I think I'd stick with the 50-yard zero if it was me. How high would you be at 100 yards with a 25-yard zero? More than an inch I think. That's the problem with a zero at a distance that short.


About 4 inches.

A 25 yard zero is supposed to be right on at 275, but wouldn't really call that an ideal situation. Seems like I ended up doing better for what I wanted.

Top
#5685666 - 04/05/15 06:53 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
Payne Online   shocked
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/27/07
Posts: 17758
Loc: South of I-10
Did you use the zeroing targets?

http://www.aimpoint.com/us/handling/zeroing-targets/

I sighted in my compM4 at 5o yards and it's still minute of pig at 200 yards.
_________________________

Top
#5686198 - 04/06/15 08:24 AM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: Payne]
bobsumner Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 09/03/13
Posts: 182
Originally Posted By: Payne
Did you use the zeroing targets?

http://www.aimpoint.com/us/handling/zeroing-targets/

I sighted in my compM4 at 5o yards and it's still minute of pig at 200 yards.


This is the correct answer. Works MOP/MOD on 55/62gr loads.

Top
#5697591 - 04/13/15 12:35 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
bside Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 06/10/14
Posts: 318
Loc: DFW

Top
#5700134 - 04/14/15 06:45 PM Re: I zeroed my red dot at 50 meters instead of the recommended 25. [Re: tenyearsgone]
passthru Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/05/06
Posts: 11167
Loc: Saginaw, Tx
Mine is zeroed at 50 as well and is just over an inch high at 100.
_________________________
I work hard, drink a little and hunt when I can.
NRA Life Member
southwestdocks@gmail.com
http://www.threefingersbowhunting.com/

Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide