Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Wytex, ocardwell, Highcountryrider, MechWario, PMURT2017
60466 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77435
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43786
BOBO the Clown 41109
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32651
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30571
facebook
Forum Stats
60466 Members
45 Forums
476036 Topics
6244640 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5673613 - 03/28/15 01:37 PM Re-chamber question
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
You have a quality barrel chambered for .308 win. Could you re-chamber for the .300 BO?
_________________________
TS

Top
#5673621 - 03/28/15 01:46 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
Classic Rocks Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 09/18/12
Posts: 1850
Not that I am aware of. Or at least not with out some sort of insert.

Top
#5673624 - 03/28/15 01:47 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
dee Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 04/10/10
Posts: 4665
Loc: Red River way
If there is enough shank material left since the original chamber will have to be cut off.
_________________________
"A vote is like a rifle; it's usefulness depends on the character of the user" Theodore Roosevelt

Top
#5673636 - 03/28/15 02:08 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
I think so, I thought that the case diameter would be the problem.
_________________________
TS

Top
#5673656 - 03/28/15 02:45 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
SingleShot85 Offline


Registered: 05/27/09
Posts: 1750
Loc: S.A. and Kinney Co.
Case diameter makes no difference, as long as you have enough room to cut and rethread you are gtg.
_________________________
"That the people have a Right to MASS and to bear arms; that a well regulated militia composed of the Body of the people, trained to arms, is the proper natural and safe defense of a free State..."
- George Mason

Top
#5673684 - 03/28/15 03:14 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
Are you sure? Seems to me the case will rattle around in there.
_________________________
TS

Top
#5673762 - 03/28/15 05:00 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
10ring Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/19/12
Posts: 840
Loc: Pilot Point, TX
I don't see how it could be done the .308 case is quite a bit larger in diameter than the 300blk. The bore is obviously the same but the chamber dimensions are way different. It wouldn't be as easy as just shortening a 308 chamber to the length of 300blk. "I don't think", maybe someone would have another way of looking at it.

Top
#5673798 - 03/28/15 05:25 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
Judd Online   content


Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 10758
Loc: Sachse, TX
You cut the entire chamber off and start with a fresh barrel. That is why they asked about the barrel diameter. It can be done depending on the barrel contour.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: Phil Robertson
Don't let your ears hear what your eyes didn't see, and don't let your mouth say what your heart doesn't feel

Top
#5673835 - 03/28/15 06:14 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 5023
Loc: Frisco, Texas
HUH??? rofl
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Straight



Top
#5673855 - 03/28/15 06:37 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: Judd]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: Judd
You cut the entire chamber off and start with a fresh barrel. That is why they asked about the barrel diameter. It can be done depending on the barrel contour.


If you had enough shank you could make that 308 Win barrel into a 300 B.O., .30-06, .300 Win Mag, 300 Rem Ultra Mag.

Still a thirty caliber barrel.


Edited by FiremanJG (03/28/15 06:40 PM)
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5673867 - 03/28/15 06:52 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: 10ring]
nsmike Offline
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 05/02/12
Posts: 4216
Loc: MN
Originally Posted By: 10ring
I don't see how it could be done the .308 case is quite a bit larger in diameter than the 300blk. The bore is obviously the same but the chamber dimensions are way different. It wouldn't be as easy as just shortening a 308 chamber to the length of 300blk. "I don't think", maybe someone would have another way of looking at it.

Let's try a little different way of explaining it. If there is enough barrel thickness ahead of the current chamber, that portion can be cut off leaving you with an unchambered rifled barrel. You would then have to cut new threads and a new chamber. It will not work with most barrel tapers but with an untapered barrel it can be done as long as it's not excessively shortened.
_________________________
for every stereotype there's a prototype

Top
#5673879 - 03/28/15 07:06 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: nsmike]
10ring Offline
Tracker

Registered: 11/19/12
Posts: 840
Loc: Pilot Point, TX
Originally Posted By: nsmike
Originally Posted By: 10ring
I don't see how it could be done the .308 case is quite a bit larger in diameter than the 300blk. The bore is obviously the same but the chamber dimensions are way different. It wouldn't be as easy as just shortening a 308 chamber to the length of 300blk. "I don't think", maybe someone would have another way of looking at it.

Let's try a little different way of explaining it. If there is enough barrel thickness ahead of the current chamber, that portion can be cut off leaving you with an unchambered rifled barrel. You would then have to cut new threads and a new chamber. It will not work with most barrel tapers but with an untapered barrel it can be done as long as it's not excessively shortened.


10-4... I got ya. I can see where that works. I didn't consider cutting the chamber completely off and starting fresh. "If the barrel contour allowed it". up

Top
#5673936 - 03/28/15 07:53 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
Buzzsaw Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 06/29/11
Posts: 5023
Loc: Frisco, Texas
so being devils advocate, sorry drunk trolling But WTF???
Wouldn't it be cheaper to buy an new barrel.

if BOLT GUN....DOUBLE wtf???

stick with .308 or buy a .300 BO in an AR platform for which it was intended

Or are you just posting to see how many people read this???

again sorry

let's talk about something cool................. troll
_________________________
"I ain't here for a long time, I'm here for a good time"
King George Straight



Top
#5674014 - 03/28/15 08:58 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
BassCat'99 Offline
Tracker

Registered: 02/15/13
Posts: 921
Loc: Stratford Texas
Hey Buzz WTF I have asked a legit question and you call that a responsible intelligent answer? If ya don't have constructive advice keep it to your self.
_________________________
TS

Top
#5674156 - 03/28/15 10:47 PM Re: Re-chamber question [Re: BassCat'99]
ChadTRG42 Online   happy
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9425
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Can it be done, sure. Can it be done with your barrel? A gunsmith would have to take some measurements and see how long your barrel chamber area is. Also, if the rifle is a 308, you will have to change out the bolt face to a 223 bolt face. Plus any magazine changes.

If you look at the "B" lengths at the link below, this is what will determine if you can rechamber it or not.

http://www.bartleinbarrels.com/contours.htm
_________________________

www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide