Print Thread
Friction Calls #5654813 03/17/15 02:50 PM
P
pigslayer10 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
P
Got myself the Hunter Specialty Raspy Old Hen glass call. I'm new to these calls and I'm having trouble finding instructional videos on how to work the call. Any suggestions??

Re: Friction Calls [Re: pigslayer10] #5654877 03/17/15 03:39 PM
W
Western Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
W
Hold the striker like you would a pen, or pencil. Keep the striker surface almost flat against the glass, and draw the striker as if trying to make a line. Use more pressure to make Chirps/ clucks. You can also rotate it in a circle and get a good hen call. You may have to slightly roughen the striker with light sandpaper every once and a while.

The hand holding the call will also effect the volume and tone, so try different things.

If at first you dont succeed, then skydiving is not for you..

"Don't trust everything you read on the Internet"- Abraham Lincoln

Dennis

Re: Friction Calls [Re: pigslayer10] #5655074 03/17/15 05:59 PM
T
thedoveshooter Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
T
I read this yesterday; helped me a lot: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-aPn1pDgQE

I couldn't get two different glass pots to work until I followed one of his first tips: sand the glass in only one direction. Works perfect now.

- thedoveshooter

Re: Friction Calls [Re: thedoveshooter] #5655145 03/17/15 06:56 PM
S
Scoop Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
S
First glass call I bought I thought was junk. Couldn't get it to make noise. I had sanded it lightly, but not nearly enough. I was worried about messing up the pretty picture on it.