Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
LuisGabriel, marnold, Cl3anslat3, VirginiaHunter, GoGo Gadjet
60482 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77557
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43788
BOBO the Clown 41125
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33685
bill oxner 32683
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30572
facebook
Forum Stats
60482 Members
45 Forums
476311 Topics
6248173 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5647039 - 03/11/15 05:46 PM Changing out Scopes
rowdydog1 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/08/14
Posts: 152
So I had a gunsmith mount a scope on a new rifle for me back in the summer. I just bought a better scope for the same rifle. Same brand, same size tube just better.

Can I simply loosen the rings and take off the old scope and put the new scope back in the rings and expect it to at least be close to bore sighted? Or should I take it back to a gunsmith?

I think my guy charges $75 to mount the scope.

Top
#5647045 - 03/11/15 05:51 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
Payne Online   shocked


Registered: 07/27/07
Posts: 16613
Loc: South of I-10
You can do it yourself. Is it a bolt action rifle?
_________________________




Top
#5647075 - 03/11/15 06:08 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
rowdydog1 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/08/14
Posts: 152
yes, a Winchester model 70 I bought off the forum.

Top
#5647189 - 03/11/15 07:11 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
Precision_Shooter Online   content


Registered: 02/18/09
Posts: 828
Loc: Crossroads, TX
Where do you live? I'll show you how to do it, and won't charge you. This way you can save yourself from being gouged by your gunsmith for something as simple as mounting and bore sighting a scope.
_________________________
"Laws that forbid the carrying of arms disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants." - Thomas Jefferson, 1776

Top
#5647192 - 03/11/15 07:12 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
Brother in-law Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/08/07
Posts: 24489
Make sure your rings and or bases are quality. And same size!

I wouldn't pay more than 25$ if I didn't have the skill.

Top
#5647286 - 03/11/15 07:57 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
All you need to mount a scope is a torpedo level, a plumb bob, one eye, and two hands.

Thw end result will be far better than any gizmo someone may tell you you need to get the job done.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5647321 - 03/11/15 08:13 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
Payne Online   shocked


Registered: 07/27/07
Posts: 16613
Loc: South of I-10
set the scope to the highest power, adjust for eye relief then follow the vid

http://www.outdoorlife.com/blogs/gun-sho...obref=obnetwork
_________________________




Top
#5647576 - 03/11/15 10:28 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
QuitShootinYoungBucks Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/01/12
Posts: 6491
Loc: Lubbock, TX
$75??? You need a new smith.
_________________________

Top
#5647891 - 03/12/15 07:39 AM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: QuitShootinYoungBucks]
FiremanJG Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/16/08
Posts: 17893
Loc: Wolfe City, TX
Originally Posted By: QuitShootinYoungBucks
$75??? You need a new smith.


Dang! I missed that part!

Heck, if you're close enough, bring a six pack of Shiner and I'll do it in ten minutes.
_________________________


800 Yard Steel Rifle Range
Long Range Shooting Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available


Top
#5647922 - 03/12/15 07:59 AM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
RiverRider Online   content
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 11/11/07
Posts: 6227
Loc: Wise Co.
Make him mount the scope before he opens a Shiner! cheers
_________________________


Originally Posted By: Cleric
God I am hating caliber threads more and more

Top
#5648583 - 03/12/15 03:22 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: RiverRider]
rowdydog1 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 07/08/14
Posts: 152
Thanks guys.

I live in Fort Worth. The rings are Talley so I think they are good. Gunsmith is in southlake so I'm sure their is an upcharge.

Top
#5648635 - 03/12/15 04:07 PM Re: Changing out Scopes [Re: rowdydog1]
GLC Online   content


Registered: 02/25/09
Posts: 4117
Loc: Burleson Texas
What part of Ft Worth? If you want to travel to Burleson, south of Ft Worth, I will fix you up at no charge in a few minutes on a weekend or after 6:30 on weekdays.
_________________________


Top



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide