Print Thread
Coyote/Hog Hunting near Lubbock #5613667 02/23/15 12:31 AM
T
tturaiderhunter Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
T
Hey guys I'm relatively new to the forum and also pretty inexperienced at varmint hunting. I'm currently an Ag student at Tech and waterfowl and predator hunt whenever I can. My hunting buddy loves predator hunting and I'm trying to get us some free land to varmint hunt on. I have got 2 places already but we've gone several times both day and night and haven't gotten anything. How would y'all suggest trying to find new places? (what type of area is good to hunt coyotes and hogs and how should I go about finding and getting those areas)

Thanks a bunch for helping a new guy!

Re: Coyote/Hog Hunting near Lubbock [Re: tturaiderhunter] #5614059 02/23/15 03:01 AM
D
D Red Raider Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
D
Fellow Raider, I grew up in the Lubbock area. I would suggest that a good way to make a connection with some local farmers to seek their permission to hunt their land would be to show up at a cotton gin office either early morning or mid afternoon. You'll find farmers there around the coffee pot. Make their acquaintance and explain what you'd like to do. Assure them you are a responsible hunter, etc.... I would point you to Acuff Coop Gin (east of Lbk on FM 40), Slaton coop Gin, or any of the other dozen or more cotton gins within 20 miles os Lbk. Hey, and one more thing... Speaking of Lubbock, there's a new website dedicated to highlighting all of the many live entertainment opportunities in Lubbock.. Try www.thelbk.com. Good luck on your quest for hunting opportunities.

So she says "sure Honey, I agree, you DO need a new deer rifle..." And that, boys, is how I ended up with new living room furniture!
Re: Coyote/Hog Hunting near Lubbock [Re: tturaiderhunter] #5616069 02/23/15 11:24 PM
L
LuckyDucker_TTU Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
L