Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Rednecktbrizz7, Captain Crunch, LRHarge, SsgtJ, bso2212
61281 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 79797
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43984
BOBO the Clown 41529
BMD 40584
Big Orn 37484
bill oxner 35357
txshntr 34111
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 31044
facebook
Forum Stats
61281 Members
46 Forums
418931 Topics
5786168 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5578879 - 02/02/15 05:53 PM Cabelas
qbdad14 Offline
Outdoorsman

Registered: 12/04/11
Posts: 77
Will cabelas mount my scope and rings for free?

Top
#5578889 - 02/02/15 05:55 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
jdk1985 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/15/11
Posts: 11824
Loc: Waco, TX
Yes (as far as I know, especially if you buy from them), but you will want to double check their work (as you would want to do with any store).


Edited by jdk1985 (02/02/15 05:55 PM)

Top
#5578923 - 02/02/15 06:06 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
JRJ6 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/13/14
Posts: 3949
Loc: Dallas, TX
My BIL purchased a new scope from Cabela's and had them mount and bore sight it on his rifle. We took it out to the range and he was not hitting paper at all. We had to take it inside and have the range re-bore sight it in for him. I would take it somewhere else. Just my 2 cents

Top
#5578935 - 02/02/15 06:11 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
kmon1 Offline
junior

Registered: 09/27/06
Posts: 20876
Loc: Texas
Like a lot of places it depends on who does the work. Sometimes when things are free you get what you pay for.


If it is a boltaction single shot or AR, boresight it yourself by removing the bolt and looking through the bore.
_________________________
Guidelines / Rules of Conduct
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/rules.htm

RULES for using the TRADING POST
http://www.texashuntingforum.com/forum/u..._PO#Post1959111

Top
#5578946 - 02/02/15 06:16 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
jdk1985 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/15/11
Posts: 11824
Loc: Waco, TX
^ This x2

Top
#5579025 - 02/02/15 06:54 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: JRJ6]
texashelms Offline
Tracker

Registered: 03/01/08
Posts: 531
Loc: Texas
Originally Posted By: JRJ6
My BIL purchased a new scope from Cabela's and had them mount and bore sight it on his rifle. We took it out to the range and he was not hitting paper at all. We had to take it inside and have the range re-bore sight it in for him. I would take it somewhere else. Just my 2 cents


Same thing happen to me and I waited for 45 minutes. Only to find out later I could not hit paper at 50 yards.

Oh I also forgot they also handed the wrong gun. I was walking out the door and by accident I checked the caliber, it read "30-06"? I purchased a 243. So yes it's free but as stated above you get what you pay for.

Top
#5579073 - 02/02/15 07:16 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
wburke2010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/26/13
Posts: 4782
Loc: Nevada, TX
Yes they will but its not worth it. Where are you located at? if your close there is a range a mile from my house. Come on by we can mount it and have it sighted in a few shots. I am just north of lavon.

Walter

Top
#5579126 - 02/02/15 07:35 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
jdk1985 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/15/11
Posts: 11824
Loc: Waco, TX
^ Nice gesture.

It's not hard to do it yourself with just a little know-how.

Top
#5579319 - 02/02/15 09:07 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: jdk1985]
tth_40 Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/05/10
Posts: 13858
Loc: North Texas.
Originally Posted By: jdk1985
^ This x2


x3.
_________________________
Originally Posted By: theserxtremedays
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large numbers

Top
#5581927 - 02/04/15 10:59 AM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
redchevy Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 10/25/04
Posts: 24418
Loc: Texas
If you don't have a gun vise or sled sighting it in via looking down the bore is significantly harder than just lining it up and adjusting the crosshairs till they are on bull.

I have had a scope mounted at cabelas buda and know 3 other people who did the same their. None have had a negative thing to say. Mine was less than 3 inches off at 100 yards.
_________________________
It's hell eatin em live

Top
#5582254 - 02/04/15 01:02 PM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
Pittstate Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/01/09
Posts: 5177
Loc: NE/CO/KS/MO/OK
All the boxes (Bass Pro, Academy, Cabelas, Dicks, etc) should get you close enough to shoot at 25yards, then 50 and finally at 100 to finish your 100 yard zero. If want a better zero, there are professionals out there that can do that for you. You usually get what you pay for. The bottom line is that the big boxes will get your scope on correctly (for 100/200 yard hunters). If you are long range shooting, the big boxes are not the place to get your scope installed.

Top
#5587593 - 02/07/15 08:15 AM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
Charlz34 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 111
Loc: Haslet
I prefer to do mine myself. But they will do this for you but need to be careful you never know who you will get to do the work or how many they have done.
_________________________
Thanks
Charlie Johnson
charlz34@yahoo.com

Top
#5588898 - 02/08/15 09:46 AM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
jdk1985 Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 08/15/11
Posts: 11824
Loc: Waco, TX
Had a shooter come to the range yesterday. He could not figure out why he could not see through his scope. (supposedly) Gander Mountain had mounted it. Took one look at it, SOB was mounted backwards.

Top
#5588909 - 02/08/15 09:53 AM Re: Cabelas [Re: qbdad14]
booradley Online   content
Pro Tracker

Registered: 01/20/11
Posts: 1887
Loc: Justin, TX
I mount scopes at Cabela's. I work there part time and have been mounting scopes for many years. It all depends on who mounts your scope.
_________________________
My great great grandfather was an old Indian fighter.
My great great grandmother was an old Indian.

Top
#5588964 - 02/08/15 10:36 AM Re: Cabelas [Re: jdk1985]
JRJ6 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 03/13/14
Posts: 3949
Loc: Dallas, TX
Originally Posted By: jdk1985
Had a shooter come to the range yesterday. He could not figure out why he could not see through his scope. (supposedly) Gander Mountain had mounted it. Took one look at it, SOB was mounted backwards.


The scarier part of this is that the shooter couldn't tell what the problem was

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide