Main Menu
Newest Members
Txjonc, rjay, wannabuck72, Drilling9440, TXBowman
60022 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 76354
stxranchman 51852
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43691
BOBO the Clown 40884
BMD 40536
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33516
bill oxner 31816
sig226fan ( 30454
Forum Stats
60022 Members
45 Forums
470852 Topics
6177014 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Topic Options
#5561970 - 01/24/15 11:54 AM Do I need a 20 MOA base?
aggiegolfer09 Offline

Registered: 12/21/14
Posts: 139
Just got a savage 11 in 6.5 creed and a vortex viper 4-16x60 hs-lr.

I was planning on sighting it in at 200 yards. I would like the ability to shoot out to 600 to 800 yards.

#5562120 - 01/24/15 01:54 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Gone to Texas Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 07/05/13
Posts: 2155
Loc: Hurst
For what its worth, I am getting a 20 MOA base for my 6.5 CM.

#5562126 - 01/24/15 01:56 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Ritter Offline

Registered: 02/15/09
Posts: 241
Loc: Southern Oklahoma
Short answer is no.
The scope has more than enough internal adjustment to shoot those distances.

#5562138 - 01/24/15 02:15 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 6858
Loc: Up in the cheap seats..
Wouldn't hurt..
Originally Posted By: bill oxner
I love happy endings.

#5562189 - 01/24/15 02:57 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
headhunter54 Offline

Registered: 07/07/11
Posts: 575
Loc: Longview, TX
I would go 20 MOA if you haven't already bought a base.

#5562218 - 01/24/15 03:15 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
Slow Drifter Offline

Registered: 04/09/09
Posts: 4216
Loc: Central Texas
Just keep in mind you'll lose 20 minutes of mechanical down on the scope, but gain the same 20 on top. If the scope has 80 minutes of total internal adjustment, you'll have 60 up and 20 down. Minus 20 becomes your new mechanical zero because your scope is now 20 minutes off parallel with the rifle.
"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein

#5562289 - 01/24/15 04:29 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
usdrscott Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/13/14
Posts: 255
Loc: TX - Texas
Leupold has a sale on there mark 4 bases 15 moa I believe
"Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."

#5563500 - 01/25/15 12:37 PM Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09]
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter

Registered: 09/16/09
Posts: 9148
Loc: Lewisville, TX
Let's calculate it. The vortex viper 4-16x60 hs-lr has a total of 75 MOA of internal available elevation. If you run a standard (zero cant) base, your zero will be about in the middle of the 75 moa. This will allow you about 37.5 moa up and 37.5 down.

If you run a 20 moa base, you decrease your bottom end by 20 moa, which puts you at 17.5 remaining in the down, and 57.5 up for elevation. I recommend not going less than 10 moa remaining for your down amount. IMO, you have enough room for running a 20 moa base. But, when the reticle is placed at the near bottom end of the scope, you decrease the amount of available windage. 17.5 moa should be enough, but if the scope is mounted right or left, you may run out of left and right adjustment.

In this rifle set-up for the 6.5 CM, you will need about 25 moa to get to 1K yards. So, even without the 20 moa base, there is still plenty of elevation available (37.5 moa) to reach out to 1K yards. So, is the 20 moa base needed, no. Can you still use a 20 moa base, yes, but with the added risk of the windage issue. I wouldn't run a 20 moa base with this set-up. The scope will have full function and full windage available without the 20 moa base.
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL


© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide